Friday, July 31, 2015

*Stacking the Shelves & The Weekly Wrap-up* Week Ending 08/01/2015

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course eBooks!

Tally HO! Off to August, we go!
Thanks for stopping by!  
The Week in Reviews:

Steampunk Saturday - Storms of Lazarus by Karen Kincy

Scheduled for Next Week:

Sunday - Devoted by Jennifer Mathieu (YA, Contemporary)
Monday - Public Enemies by Ann Aguirre (YA, Fantasy)
Tuesday - Crystal Kingdom by Amanda Hocking (YA, Fantasy)
Wednesday - The Society by Lilith Saintcrow (Urban Fantasy)
Thursday - Alice by Christina Henry (Fantasy)
Friday - Devil's Pocket by John Dixon (YA, Thriller)
Steampunk Saturday - TBD

Received via Publisher:

Received via Edelweiss & NetGalley:

Borrowed from Library:

#Review - The Veil by Chloe Neill (Urban Fantasy)

Series: Devil's Isle # 1
Format: E-Galley, 336 pages
Release Date: August 4, 2015
Publisher: NAL Trade
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre: Urban Fantasy

Seven years ago, the Veil that separates humanity from what lies beyond was torn apart, and New Orleans was engulfed in a supernatural war. Now, those with paranormal powers have been confined in a walled community that humans call the District. Those who live there call it Devil's Isle.

Claire Connolly is a good girl with a dangerous secret: she’s a Sensitive, a human endowed with magic that seeped through the Veil. Claire knows that revealing her skills would mean being confined to Devil’s Isle. Unfortunately, hiding her power has left her untrained and unfocused.

Liam Quinn knows from experience that magic makes monsters of the weak, and he has no time for a Sensitive with no control of her own strength. But when he sees Claire using her powers to save a human under attack—in full view of the French Quarter—Liam decides to bring her to Devil’s Isle and the teacher she needs, even though getting her out of his way isn’t the same as keeping her out of his head.

But when the Veil threatens to shatter completely, Claire and Liam must work together to stop it, or else New Orleans will burn.

The Veil is the first installment in the Devil's Isle series by Chicagoland Vampires author Chloe Neil. Seven years ago, The Veil that separates humanity from what lies beyond was torn apart, and New Orleans was engulfed in a supernatural war. Now, those with paranormal powers have been confined in a walled community that humans call the District. Those who live there call it Devil's Isle. Now, it appears that someone wants to revisit the bloody war by opening up the Veil. Can they be stopped, or will yet another war cause indescribable horrors?

Setting: New Orleans 

Key Characters:

24-year old Claire Connolly is a Sensitive, a human endowed with magic that seeped through the Veil. She lives life day to day knowing that if she is ever caught using Magic, she will be sent to Devil's Isle for the rest of her life. Claire has never been trained in the use of her magic. But, when she saves a girl from being eaten by Wraiths, she inadvertently exposes herself to Containment. This brings Liam Quinn to her doorstep, and a strange alliance that will help her understand her abilities before its way too late to turn back. Claire owns & operates the family business, while keeping necessary items on stock necessary for survival. Claire isn't a Mary Sue character. She actually fought and killed in the war in order to save her home. While her overall abilities suddenly blossom almost overnight, there's more to that than meets the eye test.  

Liam Quinn is a bounty hunter tracking and capturing Wraiths and bringing them to Devil's Isle. He knows the truth behind what the Wraiths really are, and is on a mission to find the person responsible for killing his sister. Liam lives in the confines of Devil's Isle. After running into Claire, it becomes very clear that the Wraiths are more than they appear. They are intelligent, they hunt in packs, and in once instance, are able to give Liam and Claire a key piece of the puzzle. While there is a lack of romance in this installment, I wouldn't doubt there will be one in the next installment.

Secondary characters:

Moses - unknown supernatural; loves collecting technology; Liam's friend and one he turns to for information nobody else has access to in the Zone.

Antoine Lafayette Gunnar Landreau - Claire's best gay friend; works for Devil's Isle Commandant's office/Containment. Containment enforces magic containment in and around New Orleans. Doesn't know about Claire's magic until things get bad.

Tadji Dupree - Claire's best gal pal; Has no clue about Claire, and hates magic. Mother and Aunt deeply involved in Voodoo which she has avoided. Tadji gets a eye opening awakening in this installment. Should be interesting to see what happens next to her.


Pretty interesting start to the series. I found myself comparing this story to the Sentinels of New Orleans by Suzanne Johnson. Same location. Same idea with the Veil opening up and allowing Paranormals into our world. I would encourage you, dear readers, not to compare Clare with Merit, or Liam with Ethan. It's not even in the ball park. A friend also mentioned Nancy Holzner's Deadtown series if you are looking for yet another series with similair ideas.

I think that after reading Neill's Chicagoland vampires for so many years, this world is a breath of much needed air. I like the differences between the Consulars, and the Court of Dawn. I liked that there were a plethora of different paranormal characters like angels mixed and fighting with Sensitives and Humans. I like that this story takes place in New Orleans. Have been saying this for years, but New Orleans has a rich, dark history that needs to be explored further.  

**I received this book for free from (Publisher) via (NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

Thursday, July 30, 2015

#Review - Frozen by Erin Bowman (Young Adult/Dystopia)

Series: Taken # 2
Format: Hardcover, 359 pages
Release Date: April 15, 2014
Publisher: Harper Teen
Source: Library
Genre: Young Adult / Science Fiction

The Heists were only the beginning.

Gray Weathersby escaped from the primitive town of Claysoot expecting to find answers, but what he discovered shook him to the core: A ruthless dictator with absolute power. An army of young soldiers blinded by lies. And a growing rebellion determined to fight back.

Now Gray has joined a team of rebels on a harsh, icy journey in search of allies who can help them set things right. But in a world built on lies, Gray must constantly question whether any ally—or enemy—is truly what they seem

Frozen is the second installment in the Taken trilogy by author Erin Bowman. 18-year old Gray Weathersby's journey has only begun. After escaping from the Franconian Order, he joined with a group of rebels at Crevice Valley. Now, the rebels, which includes Bree, Emma, Sammy, Owen, Xavier, Bo, September and Clipper, have decided to head west on a treacherous journey. They have decided that their best course of action against the Franconian Order is to join up with Frank's opposition, AmWest, and the Ex-Pats, and find the survivors of Test Group A.

Bowman's world was created by massive Continental Quakes, a Second Civil War between the East and West, Coasts falling into the ocean, and the Gulf of Mexico cutting a path through the middle of the country. Add in a lethal virus that left survivors living in a doomed city, a controlling leader in Dmitri Frank who is building an army of forgeries to fight against the West, and you have a rock'em sock-em action packed story.

For me, this was a hard review to write. Why? The whole love triangle shenanigans took up too much time while the unawareness that Frank's forgeries could be anyone at any time, hung in the background. This is a story where even though new alliances may be formed, the alliances have a long way to go before they can even match Frank's manipulations and army of forgeries. There is still plenty of room for shocking betrayals, gut wrenching and devastating losses, and Gray trying to come to terms with being a leader of a rag-tag bunch of rebels. 

Gray is also a bit of a blarking jerk, to be honest. He has feelings for both Bree and Emma but is hung up by indecision. I can see Emma since they were close from the time they were kids. There is something about Emma that makes me think she's the girl next door that you can't touch because of her parents dislike for you. Bree is a clever girl who can be just as badass as anyone else, but she's also a bit coo coo for cocoa puffs. I don't blame Bree's actions or the fact that she's being asked to be patient. She's sick and tired of being led around, only to find out that Gray is hung up on his past. But, for Gray not to make a final decision about which one he should be, is just blarking lame.

Fair warning: There is a shocking twist and a cliffhanger ending just waiting for you to get to the end of this story. I dare you not to scream or throw your book when you are finished reading this book.

Key Characters: Gray, Blaine, and Owen Weathersby. Gray - protagonist, Blaine, twin brother, Owen, Rebel Captain and Father. 

Dimitri Octavius Frank: Fascist dictator of AmEast and the Franconian Order. Responsible for Project Laicos.

Ryder Phoenix: Rebel Leader from Claysoot.

Clayton "Clipper" Jones - 12 year old gifted technology geek.

Brianna Nox - 17-year old from Saltwater, now a rebel seeking to take down Frank.

Emma Link - Medic from Claysoot who followed Gray over the Wall. Status currently unknown.

Previous book in Series:

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

#Review - Tainted Blood by M.L, Brennan (Urban Fantasy)

Series: Generation V # 3
Format: Paperback, 306 pages
Release Date: November 4, 2014
Publisher: ROC
Source: Library
Genre: Urban Fantasy

In the third Generation V novel, Fortitude Scott proves that working with family can be deadly…

Former film student Fortitude Scott is finally gainfully employed. Unfortunately, said employment happens to be with a group of sociopathic vampires—his family. And as much as Fort is loath to get too deep into the family business, when his brother, Chivalry, is temporarily unable to run the territory, it’s up to Fort to keep things under control.

So when the leader of a powerful faction of shifters turns up murdered, Fort finds himself tracking down a killer while navigating dangerous rivalries, longtime grudges, and hidden agendas. Even with the help of his foxy kitsune sidekick, Suzume, he’ll need to pull out all the stops to hunt for the paranormal assassin.

But as he calls on fairies, witches, and ghouls for help, he discovers that the problem is much bigger than a single dead werebear. The supernatural community is preparing for a massive shift in power within the Scott family leadership—and Fort has landed right in the middle of the gathering storm.

Tainted Blood is the THIRD installment in the Generation V series by author M.L. Brennan. Brennan's protagonist is 20 something Fortitude Scott who has been thrown into the middle of his families drama over the previous novels. It has been a month since Fort was nearly killed by his sister, Prudence who was trying to trigger his full transition. Fort is still trying to understand what it means to be a vampire, but hasn't fully come to gripes with his fate. Now, with his brother, Chivalry out of action due to losing his wife, Fort is expected to pick up his slack. Fort hasn't exactly been standing by. He's been learning about how his family handles things and then totally doing the opposite.

Tainted Blood once again puts Fort into a situation where his one true ally is Suzume Hollis, a Kitsune who is just as clever as she is a trickster. Fort's mission this time out is to find out who murdered the clan leader of the werebears, an important ally of the Scott's. For me, it was rather obvious what was at stake here. It was obvious that someone was doing something to stake their right to the piece of the leadership. Fort is not like Prudence or Chivalry who would just kill the first suspect they encounter. He actually listens, investigates, plans things out, and makes alliances all in the hope of keeping the peace. I have to say that Fort has made some rather interesting deals over the past 2 books. I can't wait for book # 4, Dark Ascension to release.

By the way, I do love the fact that Suz and Fort work together really well. They have playful banter, and yes, there is a hint of a romantic tryst. I do love that she teases him about his POS car, and the fact that he's a vampire vegetarian. Yeah, just no. It is time for Fort to embrace his inner carnivore and stop wasting time. These two have been circling each others wagons, never quite getting as far as saying the three words, since meeting. Perhaps with everything that is happening around them, now is the time to just do it!

I also can't wait to read Dark Ascension because obviously with a title like that, there will be a major shift in power coming soon. One can only hope that all the favors, and alliances that Fort has built up, don't come back to bite him on the neck. Yeah, I have some serious sarcasm issues. But, with a sister like Prudence who kills and asks questions later, readers are in for an interesting ride. I actually liked Prudence a bit more than previously. I liked that she tries to explain to Fort how to feed. She's definitely more of a presence than Chivalry is. 

*Side note* Fort carries a shotgun that is called the Ithaca. Funny Brennan should do that since I lived not more than 6 blocks from the factory that built that gun when I was growing up. Nice to see a little piece of my hometown is still in existence.

Previous books in Series:

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

#Review - Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams (Young Adult/Thriller)

Format: E-Galley, 256 pages
Release Date: July 14, 2015
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
Genre: YA, Psychological Thriller

A spine-tingling debut about the ultimate game of cat-and-mouse in reverse as a teen struggles to retain hope—and her sanity—while on the run from a cunning and determined killer.

Ruth Carver has always competed like her life depends on it. Ambitious. Tough. Maybe even mean. It’s no wonder people call her Ruthless.

When she wakes up with a concussion in the bed of a moving pickup truck, she realizes she has been entered into a contest she can’t afford to lose.

At a remote, rotting cabin deep in the Blue Ridge Mountains, Ruth’s blindfold comes off and she comes face-to-face with her captor. A man who believes his mission is to punish bad girls like Ruth. A man who has done this six times before.

The other girls were never heard from again, but Ruth won’t go down easy. She escapes into the wilderness, but her hunter is close at her heels. That’s when the real battle begins. That’s when Ruth must decides just how far she’ll go in order to survive.

Back home, they called her Ruthless. They had no idea just how right they were.

“I am Ruthless, and I’m no one to be trifled with.”

Ruthless is author Carolyn Lee Adams debut novel. It is a story that is brutal, as it is heartbreaking. 17-year old Ruth Carver wakes up in the back of a truck covered with straw and manure and a concussion from being knocked unconscious. She soon discovers a man she calls the Wolfman has kidnapped her to punish her for being a bad little girl and plans to kill her like he has a half dozen other so called bad girls. Over a period of 5 grueling days, a majority of it with a concussion and without any clothes, Ruth discovers her inner conviction, and a little bit of courage to fight off the Wolfman who really doesn't like arrogant red headed girls.

Ruthless is a cat and mouse game between Ruth and her kidnapper who is nearly as relentless in his desire to make Ruth pay for her arrogance and the way she treats people. There are some basic similarities between the two characters, but I'll let you read the book and figure them out. The story flip flops around a bit from Ruth's point of view, to the kidnappers, to some background information that is necessary for readers to understand who Ruth really is, and why we should really care about what happens to her. After all, there are moments where Ruth is anything but a likable character and you can truly understand why someone would hate her so much. But, the story isn't so much about who Ruth is, or what she's done to supposedly deserve being kidnapped. 

That is, after all, exactly what the kidnapper expects Ruth to do. Break down, and feel sorry for her previous actions, and repent for her sins. The kidnapper never expects that Ruth would be so strong willed to the point where she struggles to find a way back to civilization and her family. I actually found one scene pretty horrific, and it had nothing to do with the kidnapper. Imagine, if you will, someone knocks on your door. The girl is terrified, naked, and pleading with you to call the police. What would you do? Me, I would immediately call the police and perhaps offer a blanket. Not unlike NYC in the early 80/90's, people in this book have a way of pretending that things are perfectly fine. They have a way of turning away people who desperately needs their help. 

It is nearly impossible for me to put myself in Ruth's position. I would most likely die within 24 hours after being taken. But, having had military training, I would at least try to escape and not allow myself to be raped again. I would do exactly what Ruth does, fight back with everything I have left, and if I die while taking a piece of the kidnapper with me, so be it. So, my one unhappiness with this book is the ending. I do wish it had been totally different. Perhaps I am a bit blood thirsty, but Come ON! After all, how can you name a book Ruthless, and expect the character to have some hesitation in killing to save her own life? 

Yes, folks, I definitely recommend this book otherwise. 

**I received this book for free from (Publisher) via (NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

Monday, July 27, 2015

#Review - Ice Kissed by Amanda Hocking (Young Adult Paranormal)

Series: Kanin Chronicles # 2
Format: Paperback, 309 pages
Release Date: May 5, 2015
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Source: Publisher
Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal

In the majestic halls of a crystal palace lies a secret that could destroy an entire kingdom…

Bryn Aven refuses to give up on her dream of serving the kingdom she loves. It’s a dream that brings her to a whole new realm…and the glittering palace of the Skojare.

The Skojare people need protection from the same brutal enemy that’s been threatening the Kanin, and Bryn is there to help. Being half Skojare herself, it’s also a chance for her to learn more about her lost heritage. Her boss, Ridley Dresden, is overseeing her mission, but as their undeniable attraction heats up, their relationship is about to reach a whole new level—one neither of them is prepared for.

As they delve deeper into the Skojare world, they begin to unravel a long-hidden secret. The dark truth about her own beloved Kanin kingdom is about to come to light, and it will change her place in it forever…and threaten everyone she loves.


Fresh snowflakes stung my face, so I closed my eyes and lowered my head and urged Bloom to run faster. For being one of the largest Tralla horses in Doldastam, Bloom was surprisingly quick, and his heavy hooves plowed through the snow as he raced beside the stone walls that surrounded the town.
My head had begun throbbing again—a dull pain that radiated out from the gash just under my hairline along my right temple, held together with six stitches. I tried to ignore it, the same way I had any time the pain had flared up over the last two days, and gripped Bloom’s reins tighter.
Late last night, Ridley Dresden and I had arrived back home from our job in the Skojare capital of Storvatten. Though we’d been released from our duties since the mission was de- clared complete, I would hardly call it over. Konstantin Black had escaped, and the Queen we’d gone to find was still unac- counted for.
All the royals were resigned to the fact that Queen Linnea Biâelse was probably dead, most likely killed before Ridley and I had even arrived in Storvatten, so none of them held her persistent absence against us. In fact, the missing Queen’s brother-in-law, Prince Kennet Biâelse, had seen us out, and he seemed concerned that we didn’t judge ourselves too harshly.
In the majestic hall of the Storvatten palace, with its frosty glass walls shaped to look like waves encircling us, Kennet had stood with Ridley and me by the door.
“I’m very sorry we weren’t able to do more,” I apologized once more before we departed.
“You did all you could.” Kennet stared down at me, his aquamarine eyes sparkling like jewels, and sighed heavily, making the nearly translucent gills just below his jaw flutter.
Then he took one of my hands, holding it warmly in both of his. While I was surprised by the heat and strength of his large hands encircling mine, I felt too numb to really register it. The failure of the mission left me distraught and defeated, and after the previous night’s attack my head was still in a painful fog. “Don’t be too hard on yourself, Bryn,” Kennet said in a voice like rolling thunder. “You’re better than you give yourself credit for.”
“We should get going,” Ridley interjected, “if we want to make it back to Doldastam by nightfall.”
“Yes, of course.” Kennet smiled wanly and seemed reluctant to let my hand go. I tried to smile back at him, but I couldn’t muster it in my current state.
Ridley had the front door open for me. As we stepped out of the palace of glass, Kennet called after us, “I hope to see you again. You’re both always welcome here.”
I said nothing in reply, because I had no intention of ever returning to Storvatten or to that palace. With no sign of Linnea or Konstantin, there would be no reason for me to ever come back.
When we’d left Storvatten, my memory of Konstantin Black’s escape from the prison was still a bit of a blur. My head injury made it difficult for me to think clearly or recall the incidents surrounding my skull being smashed into the stone wall of the dungeon.
Ridley had scoured Konstantin’s cell before we left Storvatten, hoping to find a few hairs or a bit of cloth that he could use to track him. But Konstantin was smart—long before he’d become a traitor to the Kanin, he’d been a tracker. He knew how our world worked, so he hadn’t left a trace of himself behind for Ridley to get a read on, making it impossible for us to know where he had gone.
On the long ride back home, Ridley drove, and I lay with my head pressed against the cold window of the SUV, trying to force my mind into clarity.
I told Ridley the truth about Konstantin’s escape—that I had gone down to the dungeon to reason with him and find out what happened to the missing Queen Linnea, and that Konstantin had already gotten out of his cell. I’d been overpowered, and he’d escaped. But I had left out one glaring detail—it wasn’t Konstantin who had smashed my head into the wall until I was unconscious.
That had been Viktor Dålig.
Fifteen years ago, Viktor had tried to overthrow the Kanin King Evert, and in the process, he’d killed Ridley’s father. Since that attempted coup, no one had seen or heard from him.
Then, out of the shadows, he’d appeared in the Storvatten dungeon to help Konstantin Black escape.
I knew I needed to tell Ridley, but I was terrified that my memory was playing tricks on me. The attack still felt jumbled and hazy. What if the head trauma made me recall Viktor’s face when he’d never been there?
But now as I rode Bloom through the falling snow, pushing him hard as though I could somehow escape the truth, I real- ized I was more afraid that my memories were right. That Viktor Dålig had been there, and I hadn’t stopped him. I’d let the two greatest enemies of our kingdom get away.

Ice Kissed is the second installment in the Kanin Chronicles, picking up right where Frostfire left off. Protagonist Bryn Aven finds herself at the center of a major conspiracy that has left her wondering how far deep it goes, and who she can trust. Skojare Queen Linnea is still missing, and presumed dead. Fugitives Konstantin Black and Viktor Dalig, who attacked Bryn and left her for dead in Frostfire, are still on the loose. The question still remains why Black seems so intent on protecting Bryn? What is he really up to?

Then Bryn gets a psychic message from Linnea which sends her and Ridley off on an attempt to find her and bring her back home where things are as twisted as you can possibly believe. Thanks to some assistance from her own mother, Bryn finds a mythical lake that draws her in like she’s been away from home far too long. Bryn and her new partner Kasper, return to Skojare to investigate why the Queen disappeared, and what else might be happening under the surface. Bryn is still determined to prove herself and become a member of the Hogdragen. But, there are way too many obstacles still to be uncovered before she can even think about what's going to happen next. 

For the romance enthusiasts among you, the so called forbidden romance between Bryn and Ridley has become more intense, and much more clearer. I dare say that the romance hit sizzling level for a brief point before jumping back into the mystery. One can only hope that it doesn’t blow up into a full length twisted triangle between Bryn, Ridley, and Konstantin. Ice Kissed is a story that you have to pay attention to the nuisances. There are so many lies, political machinations, and betrayals, it is a wonder that Bryn is still loyal to the kingdom that has treated her with scorn, and loathing. 

Ice Kissed ends on a cliffhanger with a great question for Bryn. "So, what do you say, white rabbit. Friends?" With that question in mind, one would suspect that not reading the final installment called Crystal Kingdom would be a bad idea. One should want to know if Bryn gets her greatest desire as a protector of the Kingdom, or if she finds herself. I do like the fact that Hocking hasn't revealed all her cards yet. I like that you can guess who is involved, but be proven wrong, or in one case, I choose correctly and was rewarded with heart break. So yeah, I'll be finishing this series come hell or high water.

**I received this book for free from St. Martin's Press in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

Previous & Next books in Series:

Saturday, July 25, 2015

#Review - The Conquering Dark by Clay & Susan Griffith (Steampunk, Fantasy)

Series: Crown & Key # 3
Format: E-Galley, 352 pages
Release Date: July 28, 2015
Publisher: Del Rey
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre: Steampunk / Fantasy

The Crown and Key Society face their most terrifying villain yet: Gaios, a deranged demigod with the power to destroy Britain.

To avenge a centuries-old betrayal, Gaios is hell-bent on summoning the elemental forces of the earth to level London and bury Britain. The Crown and Key Society, a secret league consisting of a magician, an alchemist, and a monster-hunter, is the realm’s only hope—and to stop Gaios, they must gather their full strength and come together as a team, or the world will fall apart.

But Simon Archer, the Crown and Key’s leader and the last living magician-scribe, has lost his powers. As Gaios searches for the Stone of Scone, which will give him destructive dominion over the land, monster-hunter Malcolm MacFarlane, alchemist extraordinaire Kate Anstruther, gadget geek Penny Carter, and Charlotte the werewolf scramble to reconnect Simon to his magic before the world as they know it is left forever in ruins.

The Conquering Dark is the final installment in the Crown & Key trilogy. The last living magician-scribe Simon Archer, monster-hunter Malcolm MacFarlane, and alchemist Kate Anstruther, have chosen to become the heroes that Victorian Era Britain needs to save itself from destruction. Led by Simon, The Crown and Key Society also includes gadget geek extraordinaire Penny Carter, Charlotte the werewolf, and Kate's sister Imogen who really comes into her own at the time of great need. With Simon's powers gone and little hope of them ever returning, The Crown and Key Society still has several villains that need to be brought to ground.

Gaios, the deranged earth elemental/demigod with the power to destroy Britain is on the rampage and collecting pieces to tear the world apart. Ash, the Necromancer who wants Simon by her side and is Gaios archnemesis has her own agenda, but nobody knows what she will do when the final battle is fought.  Baroness Conrad, a brilliant engineer who turned her body into a machine, and Ferghus O'Malley, a really dangerous and powerful fire elemental. The group must find a way to bring back Simon's powers, stop Gaios from finding the Stone of Scone, and capturing the other villains before Britain is brought to ruination.

A really entertaining end to Crown & Key trilogy with plenty of action, suspense and a bit of romance thrown in. Loved how Charlotte and Imogen really stepped up when they were needed and become close friends/sisters in arms. I loved how both girls didn't cry or run away in the face of danger, but stood side by side with Simon, Kate, Malcolm, and Penny. Loved how Imogen accepted what she had become and put her life on the line just as many times as the rest of the group. I found the relationship between Malcolm and Charlotte to be heart warming considering how much he hated her when they first met.

I also liked when yet another member who was briefly introduced in The Undying Legion, Jane Somerset. Jane comes into her own and finds hope and friendship among Simon's group and helps fight against Gaios. I am glad that this group finds a way to be more like a eclectic family, rather than a group who is only out for themselves. Glad the whole Nick Barker situation was resolved in a way that made perfect sense. Even though this is final installment in the trilogy, I do think there is plenty of material to come back to if the authors feel obliged like they have with the Vampire Empire series. 

**I received this book for free from (Del Rey) via (NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

Previous books in Series:

Friday, July 24, 2015

*Stacking the Shelves & The Weekly Wrap-Up* Week Ending 07/25/2015

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course eBooks!

I have finally joined the 21st century. Had my internet provider install FREE Wi-FI! Now I don't have to leave my house in order to download my E_Galley's I receive from publishers! Yay! 
The Week in Reviews:

Scheduled for Next Week:

Monday - Ice Kissed by Amanda Hocking (YA Paranormal)
Tuesday - Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams (YA Thriller)
Wednesday - Tainted Blood by M.L. Brennan (UF)
Thursday - Frozen by Erin Bowman (YA Dystopian)
Friday - The Veil by Chloe Neill (Urban Fantasy)
Steampunk Saturday - TBD

Received via NetGalley




Received via Penguin First Reads