Friday, September 4, 2015

*Stacking the Shelves / Weekly Recap / Labor Day Edition

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course eBooks!

WELCOME BACK!
~Shelley~
The Week in Reviews:

Sunday - Lumiere by Jacqueline Garlick (Steampunk, Romance)
Monday - Court of Fives by Kate Elliott (YA, Fantasy)
Tuesday - Blood Moon Rising by Mark Dawson (Thriller)
Wednesday - The Last Necromancer by C.J. Archer (YA, Fantasy, Historical)
Thursday - Blood and Roses by Mark Dawson (Thriller)
Friday - Wish Bound by J.C. Nelson (Urban Fantasy)
Saturday - Of Metal and Wishes by Sarah Fine (Steampunk, Fantasy)

Scheduled for Next Week:

Monday - The Grendel Affair by Lisa Shearin (Urban Fantasy)
Tuesday - Gilded by Christina Farley (YA, Fantasy)
Wednesday - Visions by Kelley Armstrong (Urban Fantasy)
Thursday - Burn by Sarah Fine/Walter Jury (YA, Science Fiction)
Friday - Crucible Zero by Devon Monk (Dystopian, Fantasy)
Saturday - TBA


Received from Author Jennifer Estep

Borrowed from Library
     

     

Received via NetGalley
     

     

Amazon Deals of the Week

     





#Review - Wish Bound by J.C. Nelson (Urban Fantasy)

Series: Grimm Agency # 3
Format: E-Galley, 304 pages
Release Date: August 25, 2015
Publisher: Ace
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre: Urban Fantasy

As a partner at Grimm’s magical Agency, Marissa Locks is used to working odd jobs. But when an evil queen reappears in Kingdom, life becomes too strange to handle…

Even when she’s not starting it, trouble follows Marissa everywhere. First there was the incident with the homicidal Fairy Godmother. Then there was the time she accidentally started Armageddon. But the problems that always seem to arise on Marissa’s birthday take the cake.

This year, her annual bad-luck presents include an army of invading goblins, the resurrection of two vengeful enemies from hell, and the return of the Black Queen, the evil sorceress whose reign of terror still haunts Kingdom and who happens to have claimed Marissa as her servant.

As Marissa’s friends try to save her from the Black Queen’s clutches, Marissa fights to end a bitter war that started before her birth. But her quest for peace is about to bring up some inconvenient truths about her own past—ones that might cost her the happily ever after she’s always dreamed of…



Wish Bound, Grimm Agency # 3, is the apparent final story arc for protagonist Marissa Locks. Marissa is a character who you can't but help feel a bit of concern for. She was sold by her own mother to Fairy Godfather Grimm on her 16th birthday, she then went to work for him on her 18th birthday, and has been there ever since. For the last 10 years, she's done pretty much whatever he tells her to do. This book actually jumps ahead several years from the end of Armageddon Rules. Marissa is now a partner as well as an Agent for the Grimm Agency. The story takes place in a realm called Kingdom, where there are Kings and Queens, uptight and selfish Princes and Princesses, Goblins who deliver mail and idolize Marissa, Trolls who protect buildings, Witches and Werewolves just to name a few. 

Marissa has found love in Liam Stone, a man with the ability to shape shift into a rather large Dragon. Marissa's best friend is Arianna Thompson, a princess and a witch who has been training with Grimm to keep her from going over to the dark side. I dare say that Ari really stands out in this novel. She's daring, she's a bit reckless, she stands up for her friends, she takes charge of situations, and isn't afraid to get her hands dirty if the situation warrants it. There is a bit of a shock involving Ari and her time spent in another realm. I dare say that it wasn't the only surprise that Nelson has in store for readers.

I do feel that you should start from the beginning with Free Agent, and work your way forward. Otherwise, you will miss a whole lot of back story including why Arianna Thompson, and Liam Stone matter to readers of this series. As Wish Bound starts, Marissa is about to celebrate her 28th birthday. If you've followed this series from the beginning, you know that Marissa avoids all parties and celebrations for fear that something bad will happen. With Marissa's track record from her first day at the Agency, you can count on something horrible happening and people getting hurt badly.

But, that is just the icing on the cake. While Marissa and Ari are off to another realm, the Black Queen makes her appearance felt in the Kingdom. Again, by not reading the previous novels, you don't know that Marissa has become the Black Queen's handmaiden, or that she wears her mark, or that she's stood in front of Queens and lived to tell the story another day. On top of the Black Queen's arrival a century earlier than predicted, and the apocalypse she wants to reign down on Kingdom, Nickolas Scratch, The Adversary, demands that Marissa find 3 souls that were taken from him, or he will make more problems for the Kingdom, and Marissa. Naturally, these lost souls have a major beef with Marissa. 

Please note; Marissa is also one of the Harbingers of the Apocalypse. In this case, she's famine. I only mention this fact due to the other 3 Harbingers do make brief appearances. Death, one of my favorites of this entire story, does get his fair share of story time. Marissa has tried to remain rather humane towards her job and the fact that Grimm isn't the most forthright person when it comes to revealing what he knows. She has killed in the past, but really would prefer not to get her hands bloody, if at all possible. I wasn't at all happy with this aspect of the story. I felt as though Marissa should have stood up earlier in the story and put together a coalition of the willing. It isn't until the last third of this story that Marissa brings in the Wolves, vampires, goblins, and shocking guest appearance by a character I honestly thought was dead to take on The Black Queen's minions.  

Lastly, and I said so in my updates, I thought the whole thing with Marissa losing her purse every five minutes was just plain ridiculous! Most heroines I've read about, including Gin Blanco, and Kate Daniels, either bring a bag filled with weapons, or they are stash in their vehicles. Too much time was spent on whether or not Marissa had her purse with her that carries her id and gun. Not carrying her gun around at all times put her in a rather difficult situation when the badness comes for her. After doing a bit of Twitter research, I had totally forgotten about Kitty Katt who also carries a purse. But, Kitty carries enough supplies to start a world war, and she wears it over her SHOULDERS!  

There does appears to be a fourth novel in the Grim Agency series called The Reburialists. But, it has nothing to do with Marissa, Arianna, Liam, or Wyatt. It apparently will be an entirely new cast of characters. We shall see when January comes around if I continue to read that story or not.

I received this book for free from (Publisher) via (NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


Thursday, September 3, 2015

#Review - Blood and Roses by Mark Dawson (Action, Thriller)

Series: Beatrix Rose # 3
Format: E-Galley, 224 pages
Release Date: July 14, 2015
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre: Action, Thriller

Beatrix Rose has worked her way through her Kill List. Four are dead and just two remain. But now her enemies know she has them in her sights. The hunter becomes the hunted.

In a thrilling conclusion to the breakneck trilogy, Beatrix and her daughter must fight them in North Africa, New York and finally in the swamps of North Carolina. It's a lightning-paced roller-coaster of action that pits a deadly assassin against the might of the most powerful private army on the planet.

It's long odds for Beatrix. And that's just how she likes it.
 




Blood and Roses is the final installment in the Beatrix Rose trilogy. As a summary, ten years ago Beatrix Rose was at the top of her game and called number one by the group known as Group Fifteen. She carried out off the books dirty work for a man called Control. When she discovered that Control was corrupt, five of his best assassins were sent out to kill her. They ended up killing her husband instead and left Beatrix without her daughter Isabella for the 8 long years that she was hiding out in Hong Kong. Bad mistake. 

There were six names on Beatrix’s Kill List. FOUR have now been eliminated: Oliver Spenser (Russia), Joshua Joyce (Somalia), Lydia Chisholm (London), and Bryan Duffy (Iraq). All that remains is Connor English and the man Beatrix calls Control (Lucian Finnegan). Beatrix is followed home to Marrakesh by Connor and group of elite mercenaries working for Manage Risk. By the time it is over, Connor will have met his fate, Isabella sees action for the first time, and Beatrix decides that is time to flee for London, and then on to New York for one last trip together before Beatrix cancer ends her life. She also asks Michael Pope to bury Isabella's information so nobody can find her if things go sideways.

As this story kicks in, readers get a real sense that something awful is going to happen before Beatrix gets her ultimate revenge on the man who ordered a team of assassins out to kill her. For a whole year, Beatrix has been training her 13-year old daughter how to shoot, and survive. Beatrix is a really amazing character who can kick ass and take names with anyone from any genre. She's hardened for revenge, but that doesn't stop her from making arrangements for kids who had their lives torn apart by war. 

If you've read this book, please don't spoil it for others. Let them figure out what happens with Beatrix, and Isabella. I dare say that the arrival of John Milton in the final sequence, along with Michael Pope, was surprising, but not shocking. Dawson hid his cards very well right up until he showed them. Once again, Dawson's very British dialogue takes some getting used to. As with the previous installment, I recommend having access to the internet handy so that you know what he's referring to.

I joked around when comparing this series to Kill Bill, and did, in fact call it Kill Bill Volume 3 because both women are named Beatrix. Both women were targeted. Both women lost their daughters for a time. Both went on a killing spree that took patience, skill, perseverance, and determination to get the job done. In the end, I do think that it does help to read these books in order. I do think that you SHOULD try John Milton's story called Ghost, and I do think that perhaps there needs to be a spin off for a certain character that takes place 10 years into the future. 

**I received this book for free from (Publisher) via (NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**

Other Books In Series:
     



Wednesday, September 2, 2015

#Blog Tour #Review - The Last Necromancer by C.J. Archer (Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical)

Series: The Ministry of Curiosities #1 
Format: Mobi, 268 pages
Release Date: August 11, 2015
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services, Inc
Source: Xpresso Book Tours
Genre: Fantasy, Historical, Young Adult

Victorian London: For five years, Charlotte (Charlie) Holloway has lived as a boy in the slums. But when one theft too many gets her arrested, her only means of escape lies with a dead man. Charlie hasn't raised a spirit since she first discovered she could do so five years ago. That time, her father banished her. This time, she brings even more trouble upon herself.

People are now hunting Charlie all over London, but only one man succeeds in capturing her.

Lincoln Fitzroy is the mysterious head of a secret organization on the trail of a madman who needs a necromancer to control his newly "made" creatures. There was only one known necromancer in the world - Charlotte - but now there appears to be two. Lincoln captures the willful Charlie in the hopes the boy will lead him to Charlotte. But what happens when he discovers the boy is in fact the young woman he's been searching for all along? And will she agree to work for the man who held her against her will, and for an organization she doesn't trust?

Because Lincoln and his ministry might be just as dangerous as the madman they're hunting.
 




The Last Necromancer is the first installment in The Ministry of Curiosities series by author C.J. Archer. Set in 1889 Victorian London, Charlotte (Charlie) Holloway has been living on the streets of London since her father called her the devil's daughter and kicked her out of the house. For the past 5 years, Charlie has been living as a boy, never staying in one place for very long. She moves every SIX months so that people don't start asking questions about her youthful appearance. 

Charlie aka "Fleet foot Charlie," also has a reputation as being the quickest thief around. Which is surprising since she ends up getting caught stealing an apple and ends up in jail. While in prison, a fellow inmate tries to protect her from rapists and bullies, and dies. Charlie uses her necromancer abilities for the second in her life to bring the man back to life, and escapes from prison with his help.

Charlie doesn't get very far before she is corralled by Lincoln (Death) Fitzroy's men Seth and Gus. Death has been searching for a girl necromancer named Charlotte Holloway since hearing about her in a separate novella which I have not yet read. Death leads a group calling themselves The Ministry of Curiosities or the Committee. The Ministry investigates phenomena that seems to happen for no earthly rhyme or reason. Charlotte is one of those curiosities.  

But, Death and the Committee aren't the only ones searching for Charlotte. Straight out of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, Victor Frankenstein is also looking for her to assist him with one of his endeavors of creating the perfect human. Victor has it in his head that with Charlotte's abilities, she can help reanimate his creations. Victor is almost as ruthless about having Charlotte alongside him, as Death is at trying to protect her from being used.

The Last Necromancer is an interesting story with a lead character who hasn't exactly had a life of fulfillment since her father tossed her out of the house like so much garbage. She's a bit on the sarcastic side. She's feisty, and combative, and she doesn't like to be under anyone's thumb, let alone the dark, and handsome Death who runs hot and cold with emotions when it comes to Charlie. She ends up finding a connection and a bit of friendship with Seth and Gus and even Cook who work for Death.

I dare say that the three men treat Charlie as though they are her older brothers which is perfect acceptable to me. I could say a whole lot about the Committee, but I'll just summarize. They are god awful! Outside of Death, the only person I could stomach at all was Lady Julia Harcourt. Even then, Julia had some ulterior motives involving Charlotte. There are still so many mysteries surrounding Lincoln, that I'm pretty sure I will be reading the sequel called Her Majesty's Necromancer. 

**I received this book for free from "Xpresso Book Tours" in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**



Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo





AUTHOR BIO:
C.J. Archer has loved history and books for as long as she can remember and feels fortunate that she found a way to combine the two with her writing. Under her other name of Carolyn Scott, she has published contemporary short stories in women’s magazines, and she also writes romantic mystery novels under this name.

She has at various times worked as a librarian, IT support person and technical writer but in her heart has always been a fiction writer. She has won and placed in romance writing contests including winning RWAustralia’s Emerald Award in 2008 for the manuscript that went on to be released under the title HONOR BOUND. C.J. spent her early childhood in the dramatic beauty of outback Queensland, Australia, but now lives in suburban Melbourne with her husband and two children.

To be notified when C.J. releases a new book, subscribe to her newsletter from her website. She only sends out the newsletter when she releases a new book, and never spams.

Author links: 







Tuesday, September 1, 2015

#Review - Blood Moon Rising by Mark Dawson (Thriller)

Series: Beatrix Rose # 2
Format: E-Galley, 224 pages 
Release Date: July 14, 2015
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre: Thriller

Ten years ago, Beatrix Rose headed an off-the-books hit squad to carry out the dirty work of the British government. When she discovered that the commander of the squad was corrupt, he sent five of his assassins to rub her out. But they failed. Bad mistake.

There were six names on Beatrix’s Kill List. Two have been accounted for, and she has number three in her sights. But Bryan Duffy is in Iraq, surrounded by mercenaries, and there’s no easy way for Beatrix to get to him and no easy way to get out.




Blood Moon Rising is the second installment in the Beatrix Rose trilogy, or as I like to call it, Kill Bill: Volume 3. As a summary, ten years ago Beatrix Rose was at the top of her game and called number one by the group known as Group Fifteen. She carried out off the books dirty work for a man called Control. When she discovered that Control was corrupt, five of his assassins were sent out to kill her. They ended up killing her husband instead and left Beatrix without her daughter Isabella for the 8 long years that she was hiding out in Hong Kong. Bad mistake. There were six names on Beatrix’s Kill List. Two have been accounted for: Oliver Spenser was eliminated in Russia (Reading Ghosts, a John Milton thriller would be helpful), while Joshua Joyce was killed in Somalia (See In Cold Blood which you must read before Blood Moon Rising).

As Blood Moon Rising opens, Beatrix is hunting down her third target in Lydia Chisholm, and really doesn't mess around playing games with her. Lydia somehow survived 10 years ago after Beatrix stabbed her, but not this time. Moving on to her fourth target, Bryan Duffy, is a bit more complicated. He just happens to be in Iraq surrounded by mercenaries working for a group called Manage Risk. While in Iraq, Beatrix is asked by Captain Michael Pope to help get Mackenzie West out of the country so he can testify to Manage Risks activities in Iraq. 

On the personal front, Beatrix is dying of cancer, and there is pretty much nothing anyone can do to save her. The only question for readers is whether or not Dawson is going to allow her to finish her road to vengeance, or will he allow someone else to pick up her mantle and run with it. If you know who I talking about, please don't spoil it for others. I dare say that things could have been a whole lot more interesting had Dawson explored a bit of a relationship with Captain Michael Pope, who has become the new Control of Group Fifteen. Pope has become an ally, and a provider of supplies for Beatrix. He's also trying to make sure that her actions don't blow back on him, or his group.

Blood Moon Rising takes Beatrix from Marrakesh, to London, to Iraq. Once again, Dawson's very British dialogue takes some getting used to. As with the previous installment, I recommend having access to the internet handy so that you know what he's referring to. Next up: Blood and Roses, the final installment in the trilogy. Will Beatrix finally get her man? Or, will time run out on her road to vengeance?

**I received this book for free from (Publisher) via (NetGalley) in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**


Monday, August 31, 2015

#Review - Court of Fives by Kate Elliott (Young Adult, Fantasy)

Series: Court of Fives # 1
Format: Kindle, 448 pages
Release Date: August 18, 2015
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Source: Author Ann Aguirre
Recommended By: Ann Aguirre
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

On the Fives court, everyone is equal.

And everyone is dangerous.


Jessamy’s life is a balance between acting like an upper-class Patron and dreaming of the freedom of the Commoners. But away from her family, she can be whomever she wants when she sneaks out to train for the Fives, an intricate, multilevel athletic competition that offers a chance for glory to the kingdom’s best competitors.

Then Jes meets Kalliarkos, and an improbable friendship between the two Fives competitors—one of mixed race and the other a Patron boy—causes heads to turn. When Kal’s powerful, scheming uncle tears Jes’s family apart, she’ll have to test her new friend’s loyalty and risk the vengeance of a royal clan to save her mother and sisters from certain death.

In this imaginative escape into an enthralling new world, World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott’s first young adult novel weaves an epic story of a girl struggling to do what she loves in a society suffocated by rules of class and privilege.



Court of Fives is the first installment in the Court of Fives series by Kate Elliot. 17-year old Jessamy is the lead protagonist. She lives with her younger sister Amaya (the perfect one), her twin sister Bettany (the outspoken one), and older sister Maraya (the intelligent one) who studies to become an Archivist but is held back by having a club foot. The sisters have been raised in a household that is unique to this particular world and are never allowed out in polite society. Her father, Esladas, is a lowborn Army Captain who came to Efea to make his fame and fortune, quickly rising up through the ranks thanks to his sponsor and his determination.

Even though by law he can't marry the mother of his children, Kiya, he has remained faithful to her for 20 years. In this world, Patrons cannot marry Commoners and expect to rise further in their careers. Nor can the daughters of Esladas marry to those they want. Jessamy balances her life between that of an upper class Patron and presumed Commoner who is called MULE to her face thanks to her dark coloring and coily hair, by training to run The Fives. The Fives is a staged obstacle course that doesn't care if you are a man or a woman. The only thing that matters is fame and an opportunity to make money for your family.

Jessamy is a very competitive person not unlike her father. She wants so badly to compete in The Fives, that she saves up for a whole year, and then sneaks out behind her father's back to participate and nearly wins at her first attempt. The only problem is that the winner must unmask themselves before the entire assembled crowd which she can't do. Jessamy's decision to run The Fives and her near win, comes back to haunt her when a scheming powerful Lord Gargaron tears her family apart, and forces Jessamy into running for him, while her father is required to marry a Patron of higher statue.

Jessamy meets Kalliarkos after her almost win, and an unlikely friendship begins. Kalliarkos is a Patron prince and heir to the crown and he too loves running in The Fives, instead of serving under his uncle in the Army. They form an unlikely alliance and romance that is frowned upon and tested day in and day out. After being taken in by Lord Gargaron, Jess is determined to let nothing get in her way or reuniting and saving her mother, and sisters from Gargaron's machinations and power grab.

This story is being marketed as Little Women meets Games of Thrones. I have no problem with that comparison. I have heard people bitching about no world building or lack of characters that stand out. I disagree. Perhaps I saw things that others missed. Perhaps I didn't let side things bother me all that much knowing that Jess is so much like her father, that nothing is going to hold her back from getting what she wants. I dare say that while Jessamy is the main character of this book, the most interesting and spirited is Kiya, the mother.

I loved that she doesn't cower to anyone, including pesky Lords who tear her family apart. I love that she knew everything that Jessamy was doing and didn't ground her or make issues with it. I don't know how to take Bettany. She there, she says things that hurt, and then she disappears when everything is happening to her sister, and family. Amaya is just your typical young girl who wants it all, and isn't afraid of saying so. Loved Maraya as well. Loved that she doesn't let a little disability to hold her back from her push to become an Archivist.  I look forward to the sequel now that I've got the first installment out of the way, and loved it.

**I was gifted a copy of this book by author Ann Aguirre. Thank you so much!**



Saturday, August 29, 2015

*2 Reviews In 1* Sideswiped and The Drafter by Kim Harrison (Science Fiction, Time Travel)

Series: The Peri Reed Chronicles #0.5
Format: Kindle, 80 pages
Release Date: August 10, 2015
Publisher: Pocket Star
Source: Amazon
Genre: Science Fiction, Time Travel

Don’t miss this thrilling first look into the elite world of Peri Reed, government agency operative extraordinaire, and catch more of her character in The Drafter, the first book in the all-new suspense trilogy from #1 New York Times bestselling author Kim Harrison, out September 1.

Every hero, even the accidental ones, have a beginning.

Silas’s radical theory that drafters are not replaying time as much as they are temporarily sliding into an alternate universe has never been well-received, but frankly, the darling of Opti’s research has enough clout not to care, until a professor with a grudge tries to put a permanent end to it. Love can’t alter time, and sometimes, even being able to rub out a single mistake isn’t enough…




Sideswiped is a 80 page novella that takes place FIVE years before The Drafter begins. Not a whole lot to say about this story. Perhaps it's best described as being an appetizer for what is to come. I dare say that Peri Reed is not the main character. She's a secondary character who appears several times over the course of the story. Dr. Silas Denier is the main character of this novella. Silas has theories about what Drafting, or Time Travel really does. He bangs heads with those who think he's a lunatic. He really doesn't have much to worry about overall, however. He's already a doctor, working on his thesis about Drafting. It is his reaction to the students, including his girlfriend and best friend, that makes up this story.

Sideswiped is story about a group of Drafters and Anchors who are supposed to pass a major test in order to graduate. The test is disastrous at best. Peri's appearance adds a bit of fun and depth to the mix after she hits Silas in the head with a drone. Readers also get to take a peak at the first two chapters of The Drafter, if you so choose. I choose. You should take notice of not only Peri and Silas, but Allen Swift as well. You will be hearing about all three characters, as well as Fran Jacquard real soon.





Series: The Peri Reed Chronicles # 1
Format: Hardcover, 432 pages
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Publisher: Gallery Books
Source: Publisher
Genre: Science Fiction, Time Travel

Detroit 2030. Double-crossed by the person she loved and betrayed by the covert government organization that trained her to use her body as a weapon, Peri Reed is a renegade on the run.

Don’t forgive and never forget has always been Peri’s creed. But her day job makes it difficult: she is a drafter, possessed of a rare, invaluable skill for altering time, yet destined to forget both the history she changed and the history she rewrote.

When Peri discovers her name on a list of corrupt operatives, she realizes that her own life has been manipulated by the agency. She joins forces with a mysterious rogue soldier in a deadly race to piece together the truth about her final task, unable to trust even herself.
 





The Drafter is the first installment in The Peri Reed Chronicles, and takes place FIVE years after the novella Sideswipped ends (See review above!) So, yes I do recommend reading the novella before picking up this story. The Drafter is an action packed, stress ride of a story, with plenty of mysteries, betrayals, and heartbreaks to keep you busy from beginning to end. The year is 2030, the setting of the story is mainly alternative or futuristic Detroit, with a stop over in Charlotte where things turn on a dime for our protagonist Peri Reed. 

Peri is a trained, covert government operative who is sent around the world with her partner and anchor Jack Twill to change everything from terrorists plots, to making a group of men extremely wealthy, to retrieving a list of names said to be of corrupt agents. She truly believes that she is doing good work, and isn't aware of the extent of the betrayal of those she works with, until she finds out her name is on a list of those who are considered to be corrupt. Peri has the ability to Draft back in time if and when things go badly, and they often do in this story. The problem with this ability as I see it, is that Peri has to rely almost entirely on her Anchor to keep her sane and be there when she drafts.

Her memories would float away into the Aether otherwise, or end up with two timelines instead of one if her anchor isn't around. The biggest nightmare for any Drafter is not knowing what really happened to them or that they've been used for years. When Peri loses 3 years of her life thanks to her Anchor, she tries to put the pieces of her life back together, while also trying to determine who the good guys really are, and how she got into this situation in the first place. She reconnects with Silas Denier, who tries to help her understand what has happened to her. 

The reason why I ask you to read said novella first, is that one of the POV's is from Dr. Silas Denier who once worked for the same organization that Peri works for now, Opti. He and Peri briefly met in the Novella and apparently continued to work together along with Allen Swift, and Fran Jacquard. Silas helped an organization called the Alliance attempt to bring Opti down from the inside before leaving, and is being drawn back to bring Peri back to where she really belongs. Silas is not only an important cog that turns the wheel of this story, but its his inventions are what allow others to use Peri for their machinations.

I dare say that Peri is a wonderful character, a kickass heroine, but we've lost some crossover information between Sideswipped and The Drifter. Sideswipped showed a brilliant Drafter who became an government agency operative extraordinaire. But, what we don't have inside information to, is Peri joining a group known as Opti, or why she started working for them in the first place. There is no explanation. I don't ask for much. I just ask for a bit of world building and pieces of the puzzle that actually fit together! I dare call this story alternative fantasy or science fiction because in order for any of the things to truly happen in this book, the US would already need to be focusing on this technology.

**I received this book for free from (Publisher) via (Edelweiss) in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**