Tuesday, February 9, 2016

#Tuesday Review - Silverthorn by Sydney Bristow (Urban Fantasy)

Series: Echoes of Eternity # 2
Format: Mobi, 274 pages
Release Date: February 9, 2016
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
Source: Author
Genre: Urban Fantasy


Serena Sykes will need to gain control of her latest supernatural ability now that Darius Coyne, the last remaining master vampire will stop at nothing to kill her, so he can rule the world beside the love of his life, the ancient sorceress, Zephora. 

And if they don’t destroy Serena, the tight-knit group of friends who fight alongside her might do it for them. Her tortured romantic relationship with Nolan, who takes away more from Serena than just pleasure each time they touch, may be more inclined to help Darius than he’s letting on. And her identical twin sister, Alexis, and her niece, Celestina, take turns playing both willing ally and potential enemy. 

In a race against time, Serena must vanquish the enemies that attack her at every turn and fight to keep her friends alive, sane, and on good terms, while also trying to locate the mythic Book of Souls…if she hopes to defeat the ultimate power couple.




Silverthorn is the second installment in the Echoes of Eternity series by author Sydney Bristow. Silverthorn picks up right where Nightwish left off. It's only been a short time since 21-year old protagonist Serena Sykes discovered that not only is she a witch, but she also has a twin sister Alexis, and a niece, Celestina, who might be the most powerful witch in history. Since then, she's broken a major curse, and unleashed an even more powerful witch, and the creator of all supernaturals from her sleep. That being Zephora. She now has even bigger problems in the form of a master vampire named Darius Coyne who wants her dead.

Serena has some growing to do but that is to be expected. After-all, she was kept ignorant of what she really was by her Grams. Now that Grams Lorraine has passed on, Serena has to come to terms with the fact that she has THREE separate magical abilities. The ability to wield fire, and the ability to astral project while she is sleeping. In Silverthorn, readers will discover the final power Serena can wield, and yes, it makes a whole lot of difference. In fact, it puts her on par with her more powerful and trained sister Alexis. Serena has made more than her fair share of errors in judgement, but when you look deeper at the fact that she was never trained, and has been treated like an outcast ever since her powers awakened, you can understand why and even cut her some slack. 

Let's really talk about Serena. She's the lead singer of a band called Salem's Curse along with her best friends Brandon and Kendall who get their fair share of difficulties and challenges, especially Kendall. She discovered the Soul Sword that different factions of supernatural want badly since it can quickly and efficiently cut down any supernaturals. She now has a new band-mate who is half-demon and has some issues with his own powers. She knows that if Alexis or Celestina die, it will unleash hell onto the world. What's a girl to do? Try to keep her friends from getting dead, that's what she does.

I do love Serena's connect with Celestina who is just scary powerful. I think that Celestina will eventually have a bigger role to play, and whether or not it is for good, or evil shall remain an unknown. I dare say that I was chuckling at several scenes in Silverthorn. No, nothing bad. In fact, it definitely reminded me of the movie Queen of the Damned. If you've seen the movie, and the concert in the desert, you know exactly what I'm talking about. I can honestly say that they were my favorite scenes outside of Serena trying to survive being killed by Darius's evil schemes. 

Sydney kindly offered me a copy of this book to read and offer my honest opinion, an obviously I accepted. I will definitely we waiting for the third installment called Bloodstone, when it releases over the summer. 



Monday, February 8, 2016

#Blog Stop/Review/Excerpt/Giveaway! Jennifer Estep's Bitter Bite (Urban Fantasy)

Series: Elemental Assassin # 14
Format: Paperback, 400 pages
Release Date: February 23, 2016
Publisher: Pocket Books
Source: Publisher
Genre: Urban Fantasy

Which is stronger: blood ties or a battle-tested friendship?

It’s not easy being queen bee of an underworld abuzz with crooks and killers. Wielding my potent Ice and Stone elemental magic will only get me so far—my real secret is my tight-knit makeshift family, a motley crew of cops and criminals, dwarves and playboys. My foster brother Finnegan Lane is my right-hand man, but when his suddenly not-dead relative comes back into the picture, I’m the one on the outside looking in. 

It’s funny how life works: one minute your best friend is rock-steady, and the next he’s doe-eyed and buying into this whole loving-relative routine to the point of ignoring you. I’d like to be happy for Finn, I really would. But all of my instincts are telling me that beneath the syrupy sweet demeanor and old-fashioned charm, this sudden interloper is planning something. The whole shtick leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. This person might have avoided the grave once, but I’ll put anyone who hurts Finn in the ground—for good.







Bitter Bite is the Fourteenth installment in Jennifer Estep's best selling Elemental Assassin Series. The series features Gin Blanco as an elemental assassin known as the Spider who has two powerful abilities; the use of Stone and Ice elemental magic. When she's not avoiding assassination attempts that seem to spring up like jack-rabbits on a hot summer night, Gin runs a barbecue restaurant called the Pork Pit. Currently, Gin is also the default head of the Ashland's Underworld, a title that came from the fight to the death with Mab Monroe, and more challenges than you can shake a stick at. 

At the end of Spider's Trap, Estep left readers with a shocking surprise that could separate friends and families. As a result of that surprise, Gin now has to deal with another diabolical villain who is a very powerful Ice Elemental. It has to change because Deirdre Shaw is also Finn's long thought dead mother! Can readers trust this sweet, charming, Southern lady, or should they be wearing a silverstone vest to protect their backs? Even the deceased Fletcher Lane tried to tell Gin to be weary by leaving bread crumbs for her to find. Change is the only permanent in Gin's world. 

Change shakes things up, and throws alliances and feelings into disarray thanks to twisted machinations and the evil intent of Deirdre Shaw. Change isn't necessarily a good thing when Gin's own mother's history is brought into question by a secretive society that finally comes out of the darkness and reveals themselves to Gin. Change creates a chink in the armor of Gin's family that she has surrounded herself with. Finn, Owen, Bria, Jo-Jo, Sophia, Silvio, and Xavier. Gin's past is once again featured in this story. It is something Estep has been doing for awhile now. It's just a brief flashback, but it's definitely necessary to the storyline. 

Holy cats! You can definitely call me shocked by the way things ended, and the apparent direction Estep is taking Gin. I dare say that I am eager as a beaver to read the next installment called Unraveled. There are so many questions about the past, that I want to see what Estep comes up with. Readers have always been told certain facts about Eira Snow, Gin and Bria's long dead mother. Without spoiling things, I'll leave it right there. Gin faces some difficult challenges in Bitter Bite, but when hasn't she? I dare say that the bloodshed in this book is mild in comparison to previous novels but Gin still holds nothing back even when she faces her own mortality. I dare say that Gin is a conflicted character. She has so much stuff on her plate, that it's easy for something to fall through the cracks. Thankfully, Gin's relationship with Owen is now rock solid and hotter than a cat on a tin roof, and her relationship with Bria has found a warm spot in my heart. 



Digging up a grave was hard, dirty work.
Good thing that hard, dirty work was one of my specialties. Although this was a bit of a role reversal. As the assassin the Spider, I’m usually putting people into graves instead of uncovering them.
But here I was in Blue Ridge Cemetery, just after ten o’clock on this cold November night. Flurries drifted down from the sky, the small flakes dancing on the gusty breeze like delicate, crystalline fairies. Every once in a while, the wind would whip up into a howling frenzy, pelting me with swarms of snow and spattering the icy flakes against my chilled cheeks.
I ignored the latest wave of flurries stinging my face and continued digging, just like I’d been doing for the last hour. The only good thing about driving the shovel into the frozen earth was that the repetitive motions of scooping out the dirt and tossing it onto a pile kept me warm and limber, instead of cold and stiff like the tombstones surrounding me.
Despite the snow, I still had plenty of light to see by, thanks to the old-fashioned iron streetlamps spaced along the access roads throughout the cemetery. One of the lamps stood about thirty feet away from where I was digging, its golden glow highlighting the grave marker in front of me, making the carved name stand out like black blood against the gray stone.
Deirdre Shaw.
The mother of my foster brother, Finnegan Lane. A strong Ice elemental. And a potentially dangerous enemy.
A week ago, I’d found a file that Fletcher Lane—Finn’s dad, and my assassin mentor—had hidden in his office. A file that claimed that Deirdre was powerful, deceitful, and treacherous—and not nearly as dead as everyone thought she was. So I’d come here tonight to find out whether she was truly six feet under. I was hoping she was dead and rotting in her grave, but I wasn’t willing to bet on it.
Too many things from my own past had come back to haunt me for me to leave something this important to chance.


The mother of my foster brother, Finnegan Lane. A strong Ice elemental. And a potentially dangerous enemy.
A week ago, I’d found a file that Fletcher Lane—Finn’s dad, and my assassin mentor—had hidden in his office. A file that claimed that Deirdre was powerful, deceitful, and treacherous—and not nearly as dead as everyone thought she was. So I’d come here tonight to find out whether she was truly six feet under. I was hoping she was dead and rotting in her grave, but I wasn’t willing to bet on it.
Too many things from my own past had come back to haunt me for me to leave something this important to chance.


Purchase links 

Amazon Kindle: http://amzn.to/1KkKXr2
Amazon paperback: http://amzn.to/1g4K63X
Barnes & Noble: http://tinyurl.com/jqwn96z
Books-A-Million: http://tinyurl.com/qbhjjfm
Amazon audiobook: http://amzn.to/1JJnl3g


Jennifer Estep
Jennifer Estep is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author prowling the streets of her imagination in search of her next fantasy idea.
 
Jennifer writes the Elemental Assassin urban fantasy series for Pocket Books. Bitter Bite, the 14th book in the series, will be released on Feb. 23.
 
Jennifer also writes the Black Blade young adult urban fantasy series. She is also the author of the Mythos Academy young adult urban fantasy series and the Bigtime paranormal romance series.
 
For more information on Jennifer and her books, visit www.jenniferestep.com or follow Jennifer on FacebookGoodreads, and Twitter.




Tour Wide Giveaway!
You can win a complete set of the Elemental Assassin series, a $25 Amazon gift card, and 3 signed copies of BITTER BITE. Series & Gift Cards US/Canada only. Signed copies US Only!





Saturday, February 6, 2016

#Saturday Review - Assassin's Heart by Sarah Ahiers (Young Adult, Fantasy)

Series: Assassin's Heart # 1
Format: E-Galley, 400 pages
Release Date: February 2, 2016
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Publisher
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

In the kingdom of Lovero, nine rival Families of assassins lawfully kill people for a price. As a highly skilled member of one of these powerful clans, seventeen-year-old Lea Saldana has always trusted in the strength of her Family. Until she awakens to find them murdered and her home in flames. The Da Vias, the Saldanas’ biggest enemy, must be responsible—and Lea should have seen it coming. But her secret relationship with the Da Vias’ son, Val, has clouded her otherwise killer instinct—and given the Da Vias more reason than ever to take her Family down.

Racked with guilt and shattered over Val’s probable betrayal, Lea sets out to even the score, with her heart set on retaliation and only one thought clear in her mind: make the Da Vias pay.

With shades of The Godfather and Romeo and Juliet, this richly imagined fantasy from debut author Sarah Ahiers is a story of love, lies, and the ultimate vengeance.




Sarah Ashier's Assassin's Heart takes place in the fictional land of Lovero where NINE families are legally able to kill people. The Nine families worship the Goddess Safraella. Safraella is the Goddess of death, murder, and resurrection. 17-year old Oleander "Lea" belongs to the Saldana Family and is known as a clipper. As with all other clippers, Lea wears a specially designed mask that shows she is a member of a certain family. Lea's family is at the top of the heap as the story opens, but they have experienced major losses and now have an even deadlier family, the Da Via, itching for a way to end the Saldana's reign.

Assassin's Heart does have a feel of being a retelling of Romeo and Juliet, but it is so much more than just a romance novel. Lea begins the story in a secretive romance with Valentino "Val" Da Via who is also a clipper. But, it's not all about the romance. It is a story of betrayal, trusting the wrong person, and vengeance after Val's family attacks the Saldana's and leaves Lea as the only surviving member of her family. Desperate for answers, driven for payback on the family that took everything from her, and feeling more than her fair share of blame for what happened to her family, Lia flees to Yvain where she hopes to find the uncle that was once banished from her family.

Yvain is a major part of the story and what happens to Lea as a character. Here Lea becomes more than a character deigned on getting revenge on the family, and former lover who took everything away from her. Here Lea finds a new meaning to life, a focus on a Goddess that guides her, and gives her more than she could ever imagine. Yvain is not an easy place for Lea. She faces a whole slew of challenges from an over-eager partially trained clipper in Alessio (Les), angry ghosts that come out at night, an Uncle who wants nothing to do with Lea's path to revenge, a Family not wanting to leave any survivors alive, and a corrupt law officer who is willing to stab Lea in the back for a boat load of money.

Regardless of the way I talk about the romance, there isn't a love triangle. Lea heart gets shattered to pieces by Val, and later finds a true connection to Les who is really like a puppy dog being let off his leash for the first time by his master. Assassin's Heart has a distinctly Italian feel to it. From the characters names, to the settings of Yvain and Ravenna. I dare say that Yvain kind of reminds me of Venice with the canals and boats. 

Assassin's Heart is a standalone novel although there are a few minor questions left to be answered. What happens next for Lea, Les, and Marcello? Do they give up their clipping ways? Will other families come after Lea? Apparently there will be a sequel/companion novel releasing sometime in the future. Guess one will need to have patience to see what Ahier's does next.



Friday, February 5, 2016

*Stacking the Shelves / Bought, Borrowed, & Bagged # 2


Bought Borrowed and Bagged is all about the latest additions to your library – virtual or actual, with books that are  bought, borrowed, won or ARCs  you will be reading soon. Bought Borrowed and Bagged is a homage to to Barron’s Books and Baubles from Karen Marie Moning’s amazing Fever series, and is hosted by Braine over at Talk Supe. 

Thanks for stopping by!
Hope you had a good week and got some major reading done.
I shifted some of my planned reading around, and took some requests from
publishers. Works out in the end. Hoping to stick to the plan next week!

~Shelley~


The Week in Reviews:

Monday - Almost Midnight by CC Hunter (YA Short Stories)

Tuesday - Grave Visions by Kalayna Price (Urban Fantasy)

Wednesday - Fifteen by Jen Estes (YA, Time Travel)

Thursday - Fairy Keeper by Amy Bearce (YA, Fantasy)

Friday - Find Her by Lisa Gardner (Mystery, Thriller)

Saturday - Assassin's Heart by Sarah Ahiers (YA, Fantasy)


Scheduled for Next Week: 

Monday - Blog Stop for Bitter Bite by Jennifer Estep (Urban Fantasy)

Tuesday - Silverthorn by Sydney Bristow (Fantasy)

Wednesday - Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell (Fantasy)

Thursday - Banished by Kimberley Little (Fantasy)

Friday - Burning Midnight by Will McIntosh

Saturday - He Will Be My Ruin by K.A Tucker


*Received from NetGalley*
**ALL LINKS TAKE YOU TO GOODREADS*




*Received from Author or Publisher*









#Friday Review - Find Her by Lisa Gardner (Mystery, Thriller)

Series: Detective D.D. Warren # 8
Format: E-ARC, 416 pages
Release Date: February 9, 2016
Publisher: Dutton
Source: Publisher
Genre: Mystery, Thriller

Flora Dane is a victim. 

Seven years ago, carefree college student Flora was kidnapped while on spring break. For 472 days, Flora learned just how much one person can endure.

Flora Dane is a survivor.

Miraculously alive after her ordeal, Flora has spent the past five years reacquainting herself with the rhythms of normal life, working with her FBI victim advocate, Samuel Keynes. She has a mother who’s never stopped loving her, a brother who is scared of the person she’s become, and a bedroom wall covered with photos of other girls who’ve never made it home.

Flora Dane is reckless. 

. . . or is she? When Boston detective D. D. Warren is called to the scene of a crime—a dead man and the bound, naked woman who killed him—she learns that Flora has tangled with three other suspects since her return to society. Is Flora a victim or a vigilante? And with her firsthand knowledge of criminal behavior, could she hold the key to rescuing a missing college student whose abduction has rocked Boston? When Flora herself disappears, D.D. realizes a far more sinister predator is out there. One who’s determined that this time, Flora Dane will never escape. And now it is all up to D. D. Warren to find her.




"Surviving is not a destination but a journey." 

Find Her is the Eighth Installment in Lisa Gardner's Detective D.D. Warren series. D.D. is back, and has another head puzzling case laid out before her. Upon arriving at a scene where a man was burned to death, and the supposed victim appears scary calm, cool, aware, and not emotionally devastated by the man's death, DD begins to think of Flora Dana as a "victim turned vixen." 

There are way too many things that just don't add up. But after Flora suddenly disappears without a trace, D.D. must put the pieces together and rely on her instinctive abilities as a Detective to find her and another girl named Stacey Summers before it is too late. Readers who have been following this series from the beginning, know that D.D. hasn't exactly had an easy time of things lately. She's spent the past 6 months recuperating from a career threatening injury to her arm, and is as jittery as a junebug hoping to return to work. 

If the case doesn't drive her over the edge, the mandatory Restricted Desk duty and massive paper work will! That and the fact her former teammates Phil & Neil now have a new detective, Carol Manley, working alongside them. I respect that Gardner has returned D.D. to more or less active duty. I also respect that D.D. is having issues with being replaced with a new detective, and facing the hard truth that she has to stop being a lone wolf.  I love that D.D. has remained sarcastic while also enjoying her time with her husband and son Jack. I look forward to having D.D. back in the field full time, taking names, and kicking asses. 

Meet 27-year old Florence "Flora" Dane. Flora was kidnapped while on Spring Break in Florida, and endured 472 days of captivity at the hands of man (Jacob Ness) who shred all of humanity out of her, then built her back up into the person he wanted her to be. After escaping death at the hands of the madman, Flora spent the next FIVE years learning all sorts of survival skills from self-defense to marksmanship, and tactical driving class. Flora has a mission. That mission isn't so clear, but once you realize that Flora is still trying make up for the wrong that she committed while with her kidnapper, you will find yourself intrigued by her mission, and hopeful that she doesn't fall totally into the darkness.

I love the tension, the suspense, and the mystery that Find Her has to offer. You really don't know who the villain is until the last moment and then it makes perfect sense. Gardner does a fantastic job of putting readers into Flora's shoes while she was being held captive. I've always respected Gardner's ability to put you in the shoes of the victim, as well as the time she takes to research the subject she writes about. This time around, Flora's adventures are not only mind numbing, but shockingly authentic. As recent novels done so, Find Her is one again told in separate narratives. First person for Flora, and third person for D.D. 

This book has been dedicated to those who were kidnapped and somehow managed to survive. Think Elizabeth Smart, Jaycee Lee Dugard, the Cleveland three (Amanda Berry, Gina DeJesus, and Michelle Knight), yes, even Patty Hearst, and Katie Beers. One can not imagine the horrors one goes through while kidnapped and taken away from their family. One can't imagine the horrors of being kept for 472 days, let alone 10 years or more! I can't imagine how many women and children have been kidnapped over the years, and never found again. I do believe it is time to fix that problem. I firmly believe that we need to start tracking our children a whole lot better. Save the children, save our future.  




Thursday, February 4, 2016

#Thursday Review - Fairy Keeper by Amy Bearce (Young Adult, Fantasy)

Series: World of Aluvia # 1
Format: Mobi, 236 pages
Release Date: March 5, 2015
Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
Source: Publisher
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Forget cute fairies in pretty dresses. In the world of Aluvia, most fairies are more like irritable, moody insects.

Almost everyone in the world of Aluvia views the fairy keeper mark as a gift, but not fourteen-year-old Sierra. She hates being a fairy keeper, but the birthmark is right there on the back of her neck. It shows everyone she was born with the natural ability to communicate, attract, and even control the tiny fairies whose nectar is amazingly powerful.

Fairy nectar can heal people, but it is also a key ingredient in synthesizing Flight, an illegal elixir that produces dreaminess, apathy and hallucinations. She's forced to care for a whole hive of the bee-like beasties by her Flight-dealing, dark alchemist father.

Then one morning, Sierra discovers the fairies of her hatch are mysteriously dead. The fairy queen is missing. Her father's Flight operation is halted, and he plans to make up for the lost income by trading her little sister to be an elixir runner for another dark alchemist, a dangerous thug. Desperate to protect her sister, Sierra convinces her father she can retrieve the lost queen and get his operation up and running.

The problem? Sierra's queen wasn't the only queen to disappear. They're all gone, every single one, and getting them back will be deadly dangerous.
Sierra journeys with her best friend and her worst enemy - assigned by her father to dog her every step - to find the missing queens. Along the way, they learn that more than just her sister's life is at stake if they fail.
There are secrets in the Skyclad Mountains where the last wild fairies were seen. The magic Sierra finds there has the power to transform their world, but only if she can first embrace her calling as a fairy keeper.





Fairy Keeper is the first installment in Amy Bearce's World of Aluvia. Meet 14-year old protagonist Sierra Quinn. Sierra is a rare breed. She was born as a Fairy Keeper, and has the tattoo on the back of her neck to prove it. She has the ability to communicate with the pesky, irritating fairies that produce a nectar that is used for such things as healing, and not so incredibly, an addictive drug called Flight which is her own fathers invention. 

But, after discovering her entire flight of fairies dead, Sierra is forced to go on an adventure in order to bring her own Queen back, and to save her sister Phoebe from a life of slavery at the hands of a dangerous thug. Sierra is teamed up with her father's enforcer Nell, and her best friend and fellow fairy keeper Corbin's whose own Queen has disappeared. Later, Sierra and teammates meet a faun who Sierra names Micah as they travel to the Skyclad Mountains to find the runaway Queens, and an eye opening revelation as to why they ran away.

Although there is supposedly a slew of mythological creatures like Nagas, Manticores, Trolls, Dragons, and Merfolk in this world, readers only really get a brief glimpse of a Dragon, and a young Merfolk who helps Sierra and Phoebe. As the journey to the mountains becomes even more intriguing and dangerous, Sierra's abilities suddenly grow much stronger and as does her connection to her Queen. But, Sierra must still find a way to get back home and rescue Phoebe before it's too late.

Fairy Keeper is being marketed as a Young Adult Fantasy, with Romance. It's apparent that Sierra has some major issues, and who can blame her? She has issues with being a Fairy Keeper. She has issues with her father who pushes and pushes and pushes, and ignores what is happening around him and beats her time and time again. The only thing that matters is Flight. Then there is the fact that she is teamed up with Nell who for one reason or the other, doesn't much care for her. In fact, Nell is pretty much focused on Corbin.

So, let's just put it out there. Sierra is a young teenager who has issues. Issues with feelings and how to express them. She is angry that Corbin and Nell seem to connect on a level that she and Corbin haven't nor will. For Corbin, Sierra is his little sister, and that is pretty much all there ever will be. Sierra's anger towards her father, and the villainous thug, push her into doing things she's never done before. The ending of this book wraps up in a way that definitely leaves room for more of Sierra's journey to enlighten the world. However, it is apparent that the next book in the series called Mer-Charmer, will actually take place FOUR years from the ending of this book and feature Phoebe. 



Wednesday, February 3, 2016

#Wednesday Review - Fifteen by Jen Estes (Young Adult, Science Fiction, Time Travel)

Series: The Dreamwalker Diaries # 1
Format: MOBI, 233 pages
Release Date: January 15, 2015
Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press
Source: Publisher
Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Time Travel

Legend has it if you die in your dreams, you die in real life. Fifteen-year-old Ashling Campbell knows that’s not true because when she closes her eyes each night, she doesn’t dream about public nudity or Prom dates. Instead, she’s catapulted to the front row of her future self’s execution - fifteen years from now - where monsters have taken control of her hometown and she, or rather, her 30-year-old counterpart, is their public enemy number one.
For three months and counting, it’s been the same dream… until an encounter with an antique dreamcatcher. Ash falls asleep to discover she’s no longer a mere spectator in these dreams - now she’s astral-projecting into the body of her future self. Each night, she goes on the run with a ragtag group of rebels - who have no idea she’s really a high school sophomore and not their noble warrior. She has to make it through each night so that she can wake up and find a way to change the future. For every action she does in the present day, she falls asleep to discover it had an equal impact fifteen years later. It’s up to her to manage her two worlds and make sure she’s still got a place in both.





Fifteen is the first installment in Jen Estes The Dreamwalker Diaries. Meet 15 year old Ashling Campbell. Ash once believed that if you died in your dreams, you died in real life. Thankfully for Ash, that legend is debunked each time she falls asleep. Especially the last 90 days. You see, Ash has been having dreams about her 30-year old future self. It is a future where Billings is a dark, bleak town run by demons and she is enemy number one. But, after tampering with a dreamcatcher and coming back with clear injuries, things take a turn leading Ash to be more than an unwilling participant in her future selves actions. 

Thanks also to a chance encounter with the mysterious Dr. Robert Dietz, Ash is able to enter into dreams at a certain points, and twist events that go in her favor. Perhaps over eagerly. Think the Butterfly Effect. Future Billings, Montana is ruled by his Royal creepiness, Walker Smith, and laws of the Jumlin rule the land. Ash has her own group of rebels including Coop, Reyna, James, and Cyrus. But it is her present day that is chaotic, and trying to balance between her two realities definitely takes a toll. 

I truly abhorred her twisted foster sister Nadette. She, like Walker Smith, are truly evil and deserve each other. Then there is the supposed best friend, Tate. Tate is all in when it comes to Lakota mythology and legends and how it ties to Ash. He is also all about Nadette even knowing that Ash needs someone to help her figure out what is happening to her. He knows things that eventually do add up to a stunned and confused Ash who had that she's a dreamwalker. 

There are some things I am hoping to see a change in the sequel. I would like to know more about 30-year old Ash who is apparently some sort of badass, unlike her 15-year old self. I won't begrudge the younger Ash. Ash is thrown into a difficult situations, faces shocking events and twists, and handles herself remarkably well considering. I liked the romance between future Ash and Coop, but again, I need more. Perhaps the next book can spend more time in the future tying up questions.

I do hope we see a sequel this year. Apparently the author spent #NaNoWriMo writing the sequel. I truly hope Fifteen isn't a one hit wonder. Readers like me get immersed into the story, the world building, and the characters. We need to have our egos stoked, and our conscious clear when the series has made it to the final gates and became a successful series. I also need to have the ending explained a bit more to me. After all, leaving a book on that note, makes me crazy!