Thursday, July 28, 2016

#Thursday Review - Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson (Urban Fantasy)

Series: Novella
Format: E-Galley, 208 pages
Release Date: July 19, 2016
Publisher: Tor Books
Source: Publisher
Genre: Urban Fantasy


Alex McKenna is the new Special Agent in Charge of the Chicago office of the Bureau of Paranormal Investigations—the division tasked with investigating crimes involving shades.
Or vampires, as they’re more widely known.
Children have been going missing, and agents are routinely being slaughtered. It’s up to McKenna, and some unlikely allies, to get to the bottom of the problem, and find the kids before it’s too late.
Nightshades is a new gritty urban fantasy from Melissa F. Olson.




Melissa F. Olson (author of the Boundary Magic and Scarlett Bernard series) and Tor.com, have put together a short story called Nightshades that has plenty of intrigue and action that focuses on what would happen if the Mortal world discovered that the paranormal world actually existed and has been there the entire time. In this case, Olson has created shades, or if you like, vampires who are unafraid of pushing their weight around. 

After a team from the FBI's Bureau of Preternatural Investigation Chicago branch is slaughtered, leaving only one survivor, FBI Special agent and legacy Alex McKenna chooses to ask for a promotion to Chicago to uncover what is really going on there. It is Alex's job to put together a new team that can uncover why the team was killed off, and if there is anything he and his team can do to stop it from spreading. 

Alex team starts with his best friend Special Agent Chase Eddy, and in a surprise move, tracks down a shade named Lindy (Siegland) who has been working alongside humans while keeping a low profile for many years. The surprise is that Lindy agrees to work with Alex's team while keeping her identity a secret. Lindy has a large role in this book. She has insights to what is happening and who is most likely responsible. Something Alex doesn't have access to.

In fact, Olson switches up narratives between Alex, Lindy, and Special Agent Gabriel Ruiz to keep things exciting and also interesting which is a key to a book this short. I won't go any further than this because the ending leaves a gigantic and stunning cliffhanger ending. I am hopeful that if this really is a new series from Olson, that it picks up right where this story left off. Nightshades is definitely worth the time to read it.





Wednesday, July 27, 2016

#Wednesday Review - Red Right Hand by Levi Black (Horror, Urban Fantasy)

Series: Red Right Hand # 1
Format: Hardcover, 304 pages
Release Date: July 26, 2016
Publisher: Tor Books
Source: Publisher
Genre: Urban Fantasy, Horror

Charlie Tristan Moore isn't a hero. She's a survivor. On a night when her demons from the past are triggered, she arrives home to something even more harrowing-an attack by three monstrous skinhounds, creatures straight out of nightmares. She fights but is outmatched. Just as hope seems lost, in sweeps The Man In Black, a rescuer even more monstrous and unlikely, dressed in a long, dark coat that seems to have a life of its own and with a black-bladed sword held in his terrible, red right hand. 
Her rescue comes at a cost. She must become his new Acolyte and embrace a dark magick she never knew she had inside her. To ensure she gives it her all, he takes her friend and possible love, Daniel, in thrall as a hostage to her obedience. The Man in Black, a Lovecraftian chaos god, claims to be battling his brethren gods, other horrors who are staging an incipient apocalypse. But is he truly the lesser of all evils or merely killing off the competition? Either way, will Charlie be strong enough to save herself, Daniel, and possibly the entire world?




Red Right Hand is the first installment in author Levi Black's Red Right Hand series. Black, it seems, is influenced by the workings of author H.P Lovecraft, and that comes into play after Charlie (Charlotte Tristan Moore) comes home to find THREE skinhounds ready to pounce on her. She is rescued by a man who calls himself Nyarlathotep aka Crawling Chaos. He claims that they were sent to kill her because of what's in her blood. Nyarlathotep is the man with the Red Right Hand. He is also a bit on the scary side with his Red Hand, and Long Black Jacket, and knife that can cut a person in half.

The Elder God claims Charlie is H.P. Lovecraft's descendant on her mother's side and that she has the ability to SEE things that may help save her world from other Elder Gods who are eager to bring chaos to the mortal plane. Charlie, to say the least, isn't all that impressed by the Elder God with the Red Right Hand and isn't all that eager to be anyone's acolyte. In fact, she's downright antagonistic towards him until the God lures her ex-Daniel Langford into his web. Not only has Nyarlathotep chosen Charlie to become his acolyte, but he forces Daniel into becoming his puppet to control Charlie and to accept her new fate. 

Charlie not only can see things, but with certain talisman, she can use transdimensional teleportation to track down would be targets. Her new ability allows her to step through the void between time and space and take several people along for the ride. But, this is also Charlie learning a whole lot about herself, about the Elder Gods that are supposed to be terrorizing her world, and I dare say coming to terms with the fact that her past doesn't make her who she is now. Her past, no matter how traumatic, doesn't get to guide her when there are powerful monsters, and Gods just waiting to suck the lives out of mortals.

Red Right Hand is a combination of Urban Fantasy and Horror. There are some very dark situations that pop up in this book. They are graphic, and perhaps to young eyes, might be considered unsuitable. Charlie is an interesting character in that her past drove her to better herself so that it never happens to her again. She taught herself martial arts, she's closed herself off to having long lasting relationships, and she has an attitude to match the chip on her shoulder. She's a protagonist who I look forward to seeing how she grows as the series progresses. 

Levi is an author that I've known and met under the name of James R. Tuck in 2012. His previous series was called Deacon Chalk: Occult Bounty Hunter. When he writes, he holds absolutely nothing back. There is violence, there is bloodshed, and there are action scenes that are vividly written so that you the reader, can put yourself in the protagonists shoes. His characters all have problems. None of them are Mary Sue's. None of them run away from trouble. All of them seem to carry a heavy load on their shoulders which gives them drive and desire to ensure those that they care about aren't innocent victims. 





Tuesday, July 26, 2016

#Tuesday 2 For 1 Reviews - The Bloody City/The Burning City by Megan Morgan (Paranormal Romance)

Series: Siren Song # 2
Format: E-Galley, 170 pages
Release Date: November 10, 2015
Publisher: Lyrical Press
Source: Publisher
Genre: Urban Fantasy

On the run…

It’s been four months since the head of the Institute of Supernatural Research was murdered. But that doesn’t mean June Coffin is out of hiding yet. In a world where being different can get you killed, it’s best to keep a low profile. Especially for a Siren who can control other people with the call of her voice. That goes double if your powers might be inexplicably growing…

On the hunt…

But June isn’t the only one trying to clear her name. There’s Sam, the charismatic paranormal rights leader, and Micha, the first human on record to go paranormal. All of them must bargain with a mysterious vampire named Occam Reed if they want to stay alive.

Out of time…

As tensions increase between humans and paranormals, June must decide who to trust. If only she could hear the song inside her heart…





The Blood City is the second installment in author Megan Morgan's Siren Song Trilogy. The story actually picks up FOUR months after tattoo artist/Siren June Coffin escaped from the Institute of Supernatural Research in the Wicked City. As a Siren, June, like her twin brother Jason, has the ability to force people to obey their every command. Since arriving in Chicago to rescue Jason from the Institute, June has found herself under a microscope since her abilities are quite rare. June has found some allies in Sam Haain, Aaron Jenkins, and Micha, who was injected with an experimental drug that has give him paranormal abilities.

In this installment, Morgan introduces her brand of vampire and it is quite different from what you've read before. Vampires like Occam Reed have been infected with a virus. They also have dual paranormal abilities, which in Occam's case, means he can also shape shift. But, they are also dirty, and nasty, and well, let's stop there for fear of further grossing readers out. June is sent to meet with Occam in order to ask for his assistance in destroying the Institute once and for all. Occam has his own plans for not only Chicago, but Micha and June who is growing in another yet fantastical power as well. One that is actually pretty impressive.

I'll say this about this book, there are plenty of twists, and turns, and bad choices, especially by June. I have said this before, and I'll say it again, I don't understand why authors choose to allow a character to go through an entire book without washing themselves, brushing their teeth, or changing clothes on a regular basis. I can see if this was a post-apocalyptic, or Dystopian world, but it's not. It's set in modern age Chicago with all the conveniences of the 21st century. Not exactly happy with the way June jumps from one character to another in the romance side either. Perhaps that is why I have labeled this series as Paranormal Romance instead of Urban Fantasy.

Next Up: The Burning City 


Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  Kobo


Series: Siren Song # 3
Format: E-Galley, 200 pages
Release Date: July 5, 2016
Publisher: Lyrical Press
Source: Publisher
Genre: Urban Fantasy

When the smoke clears, who will be left standing?

Tattoo artist June Coffin has another, more hidden talent: she’s a Siren who can influence people with the sound of her voice. But in the wake of a murder and shake-up at the Institute of Supernatural Research, her own powers are starting to kill her. The only chance she has of saving herself—as well as her kidnapped brother and best friend—is to become a vampire. But joining the ranks of the vengeful vamp, Occam Reed, is the last thing June wants to do.

Occam isn’t the only danger June needs to worry about. Power hungry telepath Robbie Beecher will stop at nothing to gain control over Chicago. He’ll destroy anyone who gets in his way—and June’s lover, Sam, is high on the hit list since his bid for Mayor. With the city and June’s heart being pulled in different directions, it’s only a matter of time before the powder keg explodes…and time isn’t something June has much of left. With a city on fire, can she rise from its ashes?
 



The Burning City is the third and final installment in Megan Morgan's Siren Song Trilogy. For protagonist, tattoo artist, Siren, and budding Necromancer June Coffin, the past SIX months haven't exactly been a dream vacation. It has been filled with being shot, hunted, taken prisoner, and watching those she loves put in dire jeopardy. She's had to face her fair share of villains, including one very important one in Robbie Beecher who is still running loose in Chicago. She's also learned that her powers may in fact, be killing her.  

For Sam, and Aaron, they've gone from being villains to heroes after exposing what they've been through to the FBI and giving up all pertinent details about the Institute and Robbie. June, on the other hand, is just a footnote in history, and to be perfectly honest, that isn't even the worst thing that can happen to her. Her time in Chicago has come with some losses. Muse is gone. Brother Jason and June's friend Diego are hostages of vampire/shape shifter Occam Reed. Then there is Micha Bellevue who has been changed from truly human, into someone who has a variety of paranormal abilities, and now he gets to spend his days as a lab rat

June herself is desired by Occam because of her dual powers which leads to her having to make a choice in order to save those she loves. With June apparently dying from her powers, and Occam playing the long game to taking over Chicago, while killing off hundreds of weaker vampires, June will have to make one final choice before the entire city of Chicago becomes The Burning City

I have to walk away from the ending of this book and seriously just live and let live. There are choices. The first half of the book moves extremely slow. There are some outright earth shattering revelations, and then there is the whole fact that the author may or may not believe in happy endings. I am sad for Micha. I don't believe he got any chance to have any sort of life after what he's been put through. While June has been in the background most of the series, and not the focal point like Sam and Aaron, I still would have liked a bit of a different ending to this series.   







Monday, July 25, 2016

#Blog Tour/Excerpt/Giveaway- BLOOD OF THE EARTH by Faith Hunter (Urban Fantasy) @HunterFaith @AceRocBooks

Series: Soulwood, # 1
Format: Hardcover, 384 pages
Release Date: August 2, 2016
Publisher: ROC
Source: Publisher
Genre: Urban Fantasy


Set in the same world as the New York Times bestselling Jane Yellowrock novels, an all-new series starring Nell Ingram, who wields powers as old as the earth.
When Nell Ingram met skinwalker Jane Yellowrock, she was almost alone in the world, exiled by both choice and fear from the cult she was raised in, defending herself with the magic she drew from her deep connection to the forest that surrounds her.
Now, Jane has referred Nell to PsyLED, a Homeland Security agency policing paranormals, and agent Rick LaFleur has shown up at Nell’s doorstep. His appearance forces her out of her isolated life into an investigation that leads to the vampire Blood Master of Nashville.
Nell has a team—and a mission. But to find the Master’s kidnapped vassal, Nell and the PsyLED team will be forced to go deep into the heart of the very cult Nell fears, infiltrating the cult and a humans-only terrorist group before time runs out.




Blood of the Earth is the first installment in Faith Hunter's new series called Soulwood. This is a spin-off series that features 23-year old Nell Nicholson Ingram. Readers first met Nell in Jane Yellowrock's short story called Black WaterNell is totally off the grid and that's exactly the way she likes it. The only identification she has, is a library card which she uses several times a week. When Jane first met her, she smelled like Earth-magic and home which would explain why everything Nell touches, seems to grow faster than other means. 

Nell is a character who is hyper-alert because of her continued run ins with the Church and certain players who want to drag her back to the church where they can have their way with her and take her 150 acres of land. Nell has a rather long conflict with the church that grows more antagonistic as the days go by. Thanks to her brief marriage to John Ingram, Nell own's a piece of property that shares a border with the church, which makes it easy for the Church to trespass on her property, and do damage to her crops, animals, and home. It didn't help that Nell helped Jane find a way on the Church's property to rescue children and a kidnapped vampire.

It also makes for a ideal base of operations for newly promoted Special Agent Rick LaFleur and his new PsyLed team which includes Paka (African Black Were-leopard), Occam (wereleopard), Tandy (Empath), T. Laine (Witch), and JoJo (human computer genesis). Rick, after consulting with Jane, believes that Nell would be a fine addition to this new team that consists of both humans and paranormals. Remember folks, even though Rick is the so called boss, this story is Nell's to tell. She also gets some righteous payback for readers who have had a hard time liking RickyBo in the past.

Nell is the narrator. She is the main focus. She is sassy, honest, hard-working, and doesn't like to be messed with by anyone. It is her life and history that we finally get a deeper understanding into. Hunter takes a step by step building block and puts together what makes Nell so intriguing that has already left me wanting to read the sequel. I loved the little surprise when we finally get to know what Nell is. Guess Jane was correct in Black Water. We also get a better look inside Nell's former church thanks to the fact that her family still lives on the land, and there are several missing girls who make have found their way on the churches land. 

I actually don't care for polygamy all that much, but I found Nell's family to be impressive nonetheless. I especially loved finding out a large secret that really lifted a whole lot of past anger off Nell's shoulders. I absolutely loved her little sister Mud. What intrigues me is the possible relationship between Nell and Occam. He is just adorable folks, and I love the way he treats Nell throughout the story. This is story that is filled with action, mystery, suspense, humor, and a whole lot of fun. Don't go into this assuming that you will get a whole lot of Jane and her crew. You won't. Yet, at the same time, Hunter did give a bit part to ONE character who is important to Jane. 

Excellent start to the series! I hope it is as successful as Hunter's Jane Yellowrock series. Love that Hunter has created yet another brilliant female heroine to follow and cheer for!





I checked out and drove sedately to the hotel. It was called the Hampton Inn and Suites, Knoxville North. And it was amazing. There was shiny stone on the floor and carpet all over—and not handmade rag rugs, but big carpets made on commercial looms. It wound through the lobby and down the halls, perfectly woven. When I finished goggling, I asked for directions to the room and gave my name. I was given a little plastic card, like a credit card. I had no idea what to do with it, but I accepted it and the directions that came with it. I had ridden in elevators before, at the hospital where Priss went when she had trouble birthing her baby. I went to see her baby boy, looking through the windows into the nursery. After hours. When no one from the church might catch me there. So I knew how to get to the fourth floor, and followed directions to the suite at the end, where I knocked to be let in.
Tandy opened the door, his reddish eyes perplexed, until he looked down, to see the plastic card in my hand. Smiling, he left room, closing the door behind him. “The room key works like this,” he said softly, taking the card in his red-lined hand and demonstrating the way it fit into the slot and the little green light that said go.
“Oh,” I said, embarrassed. They must think I was a little country bumpkin. Which I was, I realized. Face burning, I said, “My thanks for demonstrating the proper methodology.”
He pulled the door back closed.” “‘How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed?’” he quoted.” “‘And how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? And how shall they hear without a preacher?’ Or a teacher.”
“You quoting Acts to me, Tandy?” I said with a small smile, feeling better, which had to be what the empath had intended. “You don’t look much like any preacher I ever saw.”
“The church where you grew up would burn me at the stake should I presume to preach to them,” he said, showing a disturbing knowledge of God’s Cloud’s politics and reaction to outsiders. Especially outsiders who looked so different.



Purchase links








About Faith Hunter:




Faith Hunter, fantasy writer, was born in Louisiana and raised all over the south. She writes three Urban Fantasy series: the Skinwalker series, featuring Jane Yellowrock, a Cherokee skinwalker who hunts rogue vampires. The Soulwood series, featuring earth magic user Nell Ingram. And the Rogue Mage novels, a dark, urban, post-apocalyptic, fantasy series featuring Thorn St. Croix, a stone mage. (There is a role playing game based on the series, ROGUE MAGE.)

Under the pen name Gwen Hunter, she writes action-adventure, mysteries, and thrillers. As Faith and Gwen, she has 30+ books in print in 29 countries.

Hunter writes full-time, tries to keep house, and is a workaholic with a passion for travel, jewelry making, white-water kayaking, and writing. She and her husband love to RV, traveling with their rescued Pomeranians to whitewater rivers all over the Southeast.

Find Faith online at her website FaithHunter.net, her blog, on TwitterFacebook, and Goodreads.

There’s also a tour-wide giveaway you can share! Faith is giving away a $25 Amazon or Barnes & Noble gift card (winner’s choice), and 5 custom key chains. Open to US residents only.




Saturday, July 23, 2016

#Stacking the Shelves / Bought, Borrowed, & Bagged # 25


Bought Borrowed and Bagged is all about the latest additions to your library – virtual or actual, with books that are  bought, borrowed, won or ARCs  you will be reading soon. Bought Borrowed and Bagged is a homage to to Barron’s Books and Baubles from Karen Marie Moning’s amazing Fever series, and is hosted by Braine over at Talk Supe. 

Thanks for Shopping by!
Yes, I did post 8 reviews this week to two blogs! 
Yes, I am blessed to have such a great friend in Braine from Talk Supe!
Yes, I am two weeks ahead and am hoping to stay that way!
Yes, I am fulfilling my promise to myself to read whatever I feel like it and not get up in the mad rush to read all the books that publishers have sent me over the past 7 months!
But, at the same time, I am doing a massive NetGalley clean-up which means going back to 2015 and finishing off any that I've read good things about.

Have a great weekend! 
~Shelley~

This Weeks Reviews: 


Monday - Heroine Complex by Sarah Kuhn (Science Fiction)

Tuesday - Red Queen by Christina Henry (Horror, Retelling)

Wednesday - The Copper Promise by Jen Williams (Epic Fantasy)

The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis (YA, Post Apocalyptic) - Talk Supe Blog

Thursday - Twisted by Hannah Jayne (YA, Mystery)

Friday - The Last Star by Rick Yancey (YA, Science Fiction)

Saturday - Sacrifices by Jamie Schultz (Urban Fantasy)


Scheduled for Next Week: 

Monday Blog Tour - Blood of the Earth by Faith Hunter (Urban Fantasy)

Tuesday - The Blood City by Megan Morgan (Urban Fantasy)

Wednesday - Red Right Hand by Levi Black (Urban Fantasy, Horror)

Thursday - Nightshades by Melissa F. Olson (Urban Fantasy)

Friday - Death of an Assassin by Ian Hiatt (Urban Fantasy)

Saturday - The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma (YA, Mystery)


*Received from Edelweiss, & NetGalley*

*Thanks Harper Teen, Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, Katherine Tegan Books, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, Penguin Group Viking! 







Friday, July 22, 2016

#Saturday Review - Sacrifices by Jamie Schultz (Urban Fantasy) @JamieDSchultz @AceRocBooks

Series: Arcane Underworld # 3
Format: E-Galley, 352 pages
Release Date: July 5, 2016
Publisher: ROC
Source: Publisher 
Genre: Urban Fantasy

Things get a little demonic in the latest Arcane Underwold novel from the author of Splintered.  Thanks to their recent involvement with a magus crimelord and his demonic partner in mayhem, occult thieves Anna Ruiz and Karyn Ames are both stuck sharing head space with a demon. But while Karyn’s possession has had the unexpected benefit of focusing her visions of the future, Anna’s demon is spurring on her darkest urges, and it’s only a matter of time before she acts on them—and hurts someone in the process.   To save their skins, the two need to find a mysterious relic. But with their search taking them into some of the darkest places in the arcane underworld, Anna and Karyn will have to ally themselves with a group no self-respecting thief would be caught dead with—the Federal Bureau of Investigation...




Sacrifices is the third and apparent final installment in author Jamie Schultz's Arcane Underground series. Anna Ruiz and Karyn Ames have been friends for the 10 years. They have a reputation at being very good at stealing dubious occult items from their rightful owners. Two months ago, things changed when they met notorious crime boss & millionaire Enoch Sobell. Since that meeting, he has given them more and more dangerous jobs in order to help Karyn out with her hallucinations. 

Sobell forced Anna to take on Genevieve Lyle, a talented practitioner in the occult arts and a sort of spy among the group who was last seen leaving with Sobell & Belial. The fourth member of the group is former soldier DeShawn "Nails" Owens. After Anna took over the leadership of the group in Splintered, it led to her and Karyn being betrayed and possessed by separate demons. As Sacrifices opens, Karyn's demon is actually helping her, while Anna's is making her more and more angry, feeling destructive, and wanting to kill someone.  

This leads Anna, Karyn, and Nails to search for a relic that Karyn's prophecy has foretold that can save them from their demons. Sobell is also after it since it can save him from hell. This leads to an unlikely agreement with the FBI's non-standard Investigations Branch & Special Agent Elliot. This also leads to Anna returning to the neighborhood where she grew up. A neighborhood ripe with strife between several gangs. A neighborhood with a strange priest that seems to possess some unusual beliefs. 

I am happy that Karyn is back after barely being there in Splintered. As the leader of the group for so long, I am happy to see her able to deal with her precognitive abilities without getting stuck in an alternate reality. I dare say that Anna continues to be the heart and soul of this group. She is the key member of the group and she is the one who kicks some serious ass in this book. I am also glad that she and Genevieve are back together after what I felt was Genevieve's betrayal in the previous book. Don't feel sorry for Nail as the only dude in the group. He is more than what he's worth in gold and what he brings to the table.

On that note, I am saddened to learn that this is the final installment in this series. I do wish that more people had found this series to their liking. This is a rather dark urban fantasy series, but one that I happen to like because I'm not one to shy away from bloodshed and violence. The occult aspect of this series is also different in that when a 
practitioner uses one of the relics, he or she loses a bit of themselves in the process. The more they use, the more they come committed to joining the denizens of hell for eternity. If you want an example of this, think Willow from Buffy fame. The more she used dark magic, the more obsessed with it she became.

FYI - The covers feature the 3 main characters. Karyn, Nails, and Anna. 






#Friday Review - The Last Star by Rick Yancey (Young Adult, Science Fiction)

Series: The 5TH Wave, # 3
Format: Hardcover, 338 pages
Release Date: May 24, 2016
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons (BYR)
Source: Library
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction


The enemy is Other. The enemy is us. They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.
But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves. 
In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves . . . or saving what makes us human.




The Last Star is the third and final installment in Rick Yancey's The 5th Wave Trilogy. It has been Six weeks since the end of The Infinite Sea. This is yet another installment where Yancey uses a variety of characters to tell his story. This can either keep a reader entertained, or off balance since you must adjust to each characters persona and the way they are dealing with the events at hand. You also MUST read the previous two installments in order to see where Yancey has chosen to go with this final installment.

We, as readers, now know who the Others are. We know that they've come to Earth to rid the planet of human beings who they believe are destroying mother Earth. They have used several different waves in order to get closer to their goal. The power has been forever cut off thanks to an EMP charge. The second wave, Tsunami, destroyed coastal cities across the planet. The third wave killed billions with a plague, then came the fourth wave where sleeper agents known as Silencer's awakened quickly killing any human they could find. 

The Fifth Wave is supposed to be the worst since the Others are using kids taken away from their families and trained as soldiers like Cassie's 6-year old brother Sam. If you really want to get a good look at what war does to children, please focus on Sam's story. He's no longer a baby who needs his teddy bear. He's a soldier who can build bombs. Unless Cassie and her rag tag team of misfits are able to find a way to stop them, then say good-bye to the human race. 

Ringer has perhaps gone through the most drastic change of any character, while Cass is the character that gets the most questions about her decisions, including her scenes with Evan. Ringer was forced by Vosch to undergo the 12th system which has left her barely human. Enhanced with alien technology, Vosch gives her one mission: bring back Evan Walker who he believes has gone off the reservation in consorting with humans. 

"She was the mayfly, here for a day, then gone. She was the last star, burning bright in a sea of limitless black."

Meanwhile, Cass and her rag tag crew have been holed up in Grace's former safe house. They have plenty to eat, but they haven't yet worked out how they are going to survive the days ahead. Especially after learning they have only FOUR days remaining until the mother ship unloads its cargo on the cities around the world. When Ringer gives Cassie a way to get into Vosch's secretive base, she jumps at it knowing that this is the only chance to end the Other's plans.

I won't even pretend that this was the best book of the trilogy. Even though there were pages and pages of violence and non-stop action including some really dark situations, it wasn't at all like The 5th Wave. I am disappointed with the author's choice regarding Cass, and at this point, I am betting you all know exactly what I am referring to. I will say that like me, I am betting a whole lot of people will also question Cass, and the series ending. I am betting you are feeling a bit of heartbreak and perhaps, maybe, that Yancey's choice will eventually make a whole lot of sense once enough time has passed.