Monday, January 25, 2016

#Monday Review - Shallow Grave by Kali Wallace (Young Adult, Horror)

Series: Standalone? Series? Unknown
Format: E-ARC, 368 pages
Release Date: January 26, 2016
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Publisher/Edelweiss
Genre: Young Adult, Horror

For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes.

When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous.

Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

"The first time I killed a man, it was an accident."

After a year of being dead, Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave not knowing where she is, or who put her there. But, she is sure that the person who finds her is not a good person. On instinct, Breezy reaches out and kills the man with a touch. Breezy starts to question; Who killed me and dumped my body here? And, why do I suddenly find myself with the ability to tell if someone has killed before or not? 

As Breezy makes her way across country searching for answers and with revenge on her mind, she meets some interesting characters like Zeke and his brother Jake who are ghouls, and Rain who is a nightmare. She also meets some humans who truly believe that Breezy is a monster that needs to be put down, or cured by Mother. But, the one thing that is most curious, is Breezy's ability to be drawn to killers like a moth to a flame. Does Breezy now become an unpaid assassin of those who have killed?

Shallow Grave is a strange, dark journey from beginning to end. Especially the ending where you have no clue whether or not there will be a sequel or not. Breezy's own awareness of what actually happened to her is skewed to the point where you have to ask yourself if she really has no clue what happened to her, or has her mind buried it so deep that it will take a long journey and meeting a powerful and dangerous creature named Mother for the truth to come out?

Shallow Grave is a heartbreaking novel as well. Breezy left behind a family she loves, including two sisters she'll never see again. Readers will have to question whether or not we are society that sees a pretty girl walking home alone, and evil in the form of men, chooses to rid the world of someone who had a bright future ahead of her. 

For me, I am curious as to how this story ended. I am curious as if this is a standalone, or will the author come back and give us more of Breezy's journey. I wanted more depth into the world Wallace has created, especially about Rain and her nightmare abilities. I am okay with the lack of romance in this book. Although, I could totally see Wallace making Breezy and Zeke more than friends.

1 comment:

  1. OOoh nice! This one sounds so awesome! I love a good ghost book and seeing them as the main character is always a challenge for writers, but one I can't help but love! Great review!