Friday, November 17, 2017

#Review - Malice of Crows by Lila Bowen #Fantasy

Series: The Shadow # 3
Format: Hardcover, 352 pages
Release Date: October 31, 2017
Publisher: Orbit
Source: Library
Genre: Fantasy / Action & Adventure

The sequel to Conspiracy of Ravens and third novel in Lila Bowen's widely-acclaimed Shadow series.

The Ranger known as Rhett has shut down a terrible enterprise running on the blood of magical folk, but failed to catch the dark alchemist behind it. And now the Shadow refuses to let him rest.

Rhett must make the ultimate transformation if he has any hope of stopping the alchemist or fulfilling his destiny; he must become the leader of a new Rangers outpost. 

To save his friends, and the lives of countless others, he'll first have to lead them on a mission more dangerous than anything they've ever faced. 

Malice of Crows is the third installment in The Shadow series by author Lila Bowen. Bowen's western landscape is home to some really strange supernatural beasties (Gila
monsters, gorgons, giant scorpions & spiders) as diverse as the human inhabitants. Malice picks up right where Conspiracy of Ravens left off. Rhett Walker (formerly Nettie Lonesome) is the Shadow, as well as a Durango Ranger scout who is pulled to fight evil where ever it might be.

When we last left Rhett and his crew of Sam Hennessy, Coyote Dan, his sister Winifred, and Earl the Donkey who showed Rhett how to unleash his other side, Rhett had just faced off against necromancer Bernard Trevison and won. But, it came with a cost. Trevison skedaddled with 6-year old Meimei, the younger sister of Cora. Cora just happens to be a dragon shifter and healer. Now, Rhett and crew must put an end to Trevison and save Meimei while also facing all sorts of dangerous challenges that are made of wax, gold, and bone.

Rhett's adventures are always interesting with plenty of twists and action. Rhett, as the Shadow, has a tendency of calling trouble no matter where it is. Rhett's crew may not like where the Shadows path takes them, or understand the Shadows path, but none of them have ever expressed a desire to leave and go out on their own. Rhett has come more comfortable with the fact that there his has several personalities pulling in different directions. But, there is a gut punch ending that has left me wary of where this series will go from here. The plus is the addition of Ines, who is a Gorgon. Whether or not she becomes a permanent part of Rhett's posse, we shall see.

#1. Wake of Vultures (2015)
#2. Conspiracy of Ravens (2016)
#3. MALICE OF CROWS (2017)
#4. Treason of Hawks (2018)

No comments:

Post a Comment