Friday, March 16, 2018

Friday #Review - Immortal Reign by Morgan Rhodes #YALIT #Fantasy

Series: Falling Kingdoms (#6)
Format: Hardcover, 416 pages
Release Date: February 6, 2018
Publisher: Razorbill
Source: Library
Genre: Young Adult / Fantasy / Epic

The Falling Kingdoms series by New York Times bestselling author Morgan Rhodes comes to a thrilling conclusion.

As two lethal elemental gods set out to destroy Mytica, sworn enemies must become allies in the final fight to save the kingdoms.

Jonas continues to willfully defy his destiny, but the consequences of plotting his own course are drastic. As the fight for Mytica rages on, he must decide just how much more he’s willing to sacrifice.

Lucia knows there’s something special about her daughter and she’ll do anything to protect her, even if that means facing Kyan alone.

Amara is called back home to Kraeshia. Grandma Cortas has her own plans for Mytica’s future. She promises Amara power, revenge, and dominance if she agrees to be part of her scheme.

Magnus and Cleo’s love will be put to the ultimate test. Dark magic is causing widespread destruction throughout the kingdom. Enemies across the sea are advancing. And unrest is stirring throughout the land. Is their love strong enough to withstand the outside forces tearing them apart?

Immortal Reign is the sixth and final installment in Morgan Rhodes Falling Kingdoms series. Immortal Reign includes Easter eggs and teasers to The Cursed Heir, the last book in the Spirits and Thieves trilogy. But, enough of that for now. This is a series that takes place in the fantastical land of Mytica where there were once three separate countries; Limeros, Paelisa, & Auranos. Mytica has a new ruler and her name is Amara Cortas from the land known as Kraeshia. If you haven't read the previous installments, please do so. There has been so much that has happened that if you missed the previous stories, you won't understand the characters, & you will also miss out on the fantastic worldbuilding, worthy main and secondary characters, and brilliant villains of which there has been more than a few. 

The story picks up right where Crystal Storm left off. The Kindred have claimed the bodies of Cleo, Nic, Olivia, and Taran while Magnus is in a very dark place not of his own choosing this time. Where Olivia and Nic were completely under the influence of the Kindred that ‘possessed’ them, Cleo and Taran were not, and still had command of their bodies. Let's talk about each of the individual characters that Morgan uses to tell her final story in what has been an exciting and twisted series filled with magic, death, betrayal, romance, immortal elementals, and curious couplings. Our main characters are: Prince Magnus, Princess Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and the before mentioned Amara. As the story opens, readers also get an introduction to yet another character who you will hopefully know who she is since she's kind of a big deal. 

In Paelsia, Jonas Agallon & Lucia Damora are traveling together after she survived what she wasn't supposed to survive. Lucia has gained something pretty powerful, a baby, that may be even more powerful than she is. Lucia & Jonas try to make their way back to Lucia's family not knowing what has happened to Magnus or the others. They have no idea that all four Kindred Gods have been released from their prisons. This is an interesting partnership which pretty much stays the course with a few bumps along the way. Lucia, who wasn't exactly one of my favorite characters after she ran off and got herself into deep kimchee, now has a huge decision and a course of action that will take her towards her supposed fate and prophecy. She still isn't my favorite character because she continues to make awful choices right to the very ending of the series. Meanwhile, Jonas was given a gift, and has grown tremendously over the course of this series. He's still not the rebel that he once was, and he has issues that linger every now and then.

Cleiona (Cleo) Bellos has a huge issue to deal with. She is now sharing her body with an elemental that will push and pull her the entire way. Yet, she is also strong and refuses to give in to anyone's threats, or intimidation, including Kyan, the Kindred Fire Elemental. If she loses herself, she wants to go out in her own way just like she has tried to grind a path from being without a family, married to a man she despised, only to find someone who really cares for her in return. When it comes to the ending of this story, I was absolutely floored, and no I will not spoil it for you. 

"Whatever happens - you and me are together forever. All right?"  

Once we get finally get through Jonah, Lucia, Amara, and Cleo's first appearances in the story, we find Magnus Damora is a precarious situation. Magnus hasn't always been my favorite character, but man does he really have an interesting storyline. He has been involved in some of the worst decisions of any character, outside of Jonas and Lucia. But, his one concern is actually the most heart warming. He really, honestly cares about Cleo, and she has found that he isn't who she thought he was. If you think your family has issues, you can't hold a match to Magnus and Lucia's. 

The least likable character in this book is Amara. To me, her solo storyline wasn't even remotely entertaining until later in the book when she returns home to face her impending rise to becoming Empress of Kraeshia. Then, to top things off, the author decides to reveal yet another curious coupling for which I won't spoil, but if you have read the series to this point, you can probably guess who the character is. 

So, in conclusion, yes I will recommend this series to readers who are looking for a series with great world building, fantastic characters, including secondary characters like Nic, Nerissa, Ashur, and Felix. It also has the most interesting villains you will find anywhere. 

1 comment:

  1. An amazing review, Shelley. ^_^ I'm definitely adding this series to my Goodreads List. <3