Friday, October 12, 2018

#Review - A Sorrow Fierce and Falling by Jessica Cluess #YALit #Fantasy

Series: KINGDOM ON FIRE (#3)
Format: Hardcover, 416 pages
Release Date: October 16, 2018
Publisher: RH Books for Young Readers
Source: NetGalley
Genre: Young Adult / Fantasy

It’s time for war.

After suffering terrible losses, Henrietta and Lord Blackwood have led their warriors to Sorrow-Fell, a vast estate where only those invited by a Blackwood may enter—and the ideal place to plan a final assault against the Ancients.

It’s time for a wedding.

Henrietta nervously awaits her marriage to Blackwood, but when the ritual to become his bride reveals a dark secret, she realizes that Sorrow-Fell is not a safe haven; it’s a trap. Convincing the sorcerers of this, however, is not easy. So with Maria, the true chosen one, and Magnus, the young man who once stole her heart, at her side, Henrietta plots a dangerous journey straight into the enemy’s lair. Some will live. Some will die. All will be tested.

In this stunning conclusion to the Kingdom on Fire series, Henrietta must choose between the love from her past, the love from her present, and a love that could define her future. While battles rage, the fate of the kingdom rests on her decision: Will she fall or rise up to become the woman who saves the realm?

It’s time for Henrietta to make her stand.

A Sorrow Fierce and Falling is the third and final installment in author Jessica Cluess' Kingdom on Fire trilogy. This story picks up where A Poison Dark and Drowning left off. 17-year old protagonist Henrietta (Nettie) Howel finds herself days from marrying Lord George Blackwood at Sorrow-Fell his ancestral home after escaping a disastrous loss to the Ancients. Meanwhile, Nettie hasn't told anyone that she has found the so called chosen one, or that she was bitten by Rook or what that could mean for her future.

Nettie will soon learn all she needs to know about the deepest secrets about Sorrow-Fell, what it means to her, and what she is expected to do now that she is to take on the title of Countess Blackwood. Some of these secrets really put a strain on her relationship with Blackwood. If that weren't enough to worry about, only a few people know who R'hlem really is, and why he is so angry and why destroying England is at the top of his list of things to accomplish.

This book definitely does not lack action, adventure, twists, turns, shocks, emotional scenes, romance, and an ending that will leave you with all sorts of conflicting emotions. I won't hesitate to say that there are a whole lot of conflicts between Nettie and Blackwood which could have been avoided had Blackwood actually took a step back and saw what she was trying to do. I will also say that it is expected that you would have read the first two books in this series before reaching this point so that you can avoid any and all spoilers from your fellow reviewers, including me!

Nettie is a great character who was born a Magician, but trained as a Sorceress. She is surrounded by friends like Magnus, Maria, Lilly, Lambe, Valens, Dee, Wolff, hell, even Queen Victoria seems to be on her side when it comes to dealing with the Ancients. The most impressive part of this story is to leave her friends behind in order to find a coalition of the willing. Willing Magicians, Witches, and even Magicians in order to fight and send the Ancients home where they belong. When you read this book, be prepared to be a bundle of emotions and nerves. Things will hit you in the mouth, and they don't stop until the final page of the story is finished.

No comments:

Post a Comment