Wednesday, February 20, 2019

#Review - Queen to Ashes by Mallory McCartney #YALit #Dystopian

Series: Black Dawn # 2
Format: E-Book, 301 pages
Release Date: February 19, 2019
Publisher: Clean Reads
Source: Publisher
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian

“You lived your entire life feeling like half of you was missing. Fight for the missing part. Fight for this.”

Emory Fae has abandoned everything she thought she knew about her previous life on Earth. Stepping up to her role as Queen of Kiero she makes a startling sacrifice- feigning her allegiances to Adair Stratton, the man who murdered her parents and casted Kiero into ruin. Emory’s memories slowly piece together, and she soon realizes the Mad King may not be all he seems— and the man who was once best friend, may be fighting beneath the surface.

With the King’s attention on her, can she buy Black Dawn Rebellion enough time to recuperate their forces? And when the time comes, will she be able to kill Adair, ending his tyranny and rising herself as the rightful Queen? Fighting to hide her secret, Emory navigates the brutal trials of the Mad King, trying not to lose herself in the process.

Sequel to Black Dawn, now a bestselling series, the sparks are ignited, as Emory learns the cost of freedom, and her title. Will the rebels unite in time? A sinister force has spread across the land, stripping everyone bare- their betrayals, their secrets, their intentions. But above all, what will their decisions cost? By refusing to give in to the darkness, will Emory rise as Queen?




Queen to Ashes is the second installment in author Mallory McCartney's Black Dawn series. I have to say, I am absolutely stunned by the endings to this story. Endings meaning two characters face life or death moments. I dare say it's given me some time to think about my review before sitting down and actually writing it, or in this case, typing it. This is a story that features many different characters. But, let's start with Emory Fae, the presumptive Queen of Kiero.

Emory has abandoned her previous life on Earth. She joined the Black Dawn Rebellion in order to remove the Dark King, Adair Stratton. But, nothing was what it seemed, & she ended up making some really interesting choices at the end of the previous installment which has led her to her current predicament. She has to prove her allegiance to Adair, survive the numerous life or death trials she is put through, as well as learning everything she can in order to overthrow him.  

Adair is the man who was once a good friend at the Academy and maybe more. That means becoming one of his soldiers and giving the Rebellion time to heal from their defeat. But, that's not the only challenges that Emory and her fellow Rebellion have to face. There are some really vile villains in this story. From the dangerous Oilean who are working to bring back their King, to another even darker force just waiting to rise. So, let's not focus all our time on Emory. 

Yes, she is an interesting character, and yes, she has some brilliant moments as well as a sort of awakening, but if you ignore the others like Azarius, Lana, Brokk, Memphis, Riana, Nyx, & Alby. While Emory is hoping to make Adair believe she's on his side, the Rebellion is fighting for their very lives. One could say that most of the action and twists is with those of the Rebellion. It's fair to say that I am not at all disappointed by this story. I am fascinated to learn more about the other realms, including Daer, as well as finding out more about the Shatter Islands which is where part of the story ends.  


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37571393-queen-to-ashes#other_reviews

Amazon | Barnes & Noble |  Kobo




Tuesday, February 19, 2019

#Review - Seek and Destroy by Alan McDermott #Mystery #Thriller

Series: Eva Driscoll # 2
Format: E-Book, 272 pages
Release Date: November 14, 2018
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Source: Kindle Unlimited
Genre: Mystery, Thriller


She got away once. They can’t let it happen again.
 
Eva Driscoll is on the run. She has a new identity, and the best part of $20m liberated from the CIA. Henry Langton is dead but his sinister allies are circling, and not even a presidential pardon can help Eva against an organization that operates above the White House.

With agents around the globe and no tactic off limits, Langton’s men are calling the shots. When they track down ex-CIA computer expert Farooq Naser and threaten Andrew Harvey and Tom Gray, Eva knows they will come for her next. She needs to run—and fast—but what chance does one woman have against the most powerful group in the United States, with just a few ex-spooks and a couple of mercenaries on her side?

But her pursuers should know that, even backed into a corner, Eva Driscoll is not the kind of prey to give up without a fight. But will it mean hurting those she cares for the most?





Seek and Destroy is the second installment in author Alan McDermott's Eva Driscoll series. Months after the events of Run and Hide, Eva Driscoll and her team (Farooq, Sonny, Len Smart, Carl Huff, and Rees Colback) are living under the radar with new ID's since being pardoned by the American President. But, things are about to get very dangerous for everyone. Henry Langdon, the dark, shady man behind most of the governments of the world, and who was presumed to be dead by almost everyone, is very much alive and itching for payback. 

He especially hates Eva, the former CIA operative who brought the richest man in the world down. When Farooq, Eva’s IT maestro, is tracked down in India, his friend is murdered by the Langdon's people in order to force Eva and the others out into the open. When that fails, Langdon's people target retired mercenary Tom Gray, and then his friend, MI5 agent Andrew Harvey, kidnapping their daughters in order to get them to give Eva up. I have to be fair with my review. 

This is more of a Tom Gray story than one that belongs under the heading of Eva Driscoll's. Tom, Sonny, and Len have a history. So, when Tom and his daughter are targeted and things don't go as expected, it will take an act of God to stop him from doing what's needed into order to bring down Langdon and his entire organization. Even though Eva proved herself to Sonny and Len, with his daughters life on the line, it is Tom who proves the much necessary leadership.

From India, to England, to Italy, to a secretive island in the Pacific, Tom, Eva and their team must infiltrate Langdon's highly protected base of operations and rescue two little girls from finding pain and suffering. It is fair to say that one must suspend disbelief at times while reading this story. The story is fast paced, and takes large jumps from one locale to the other. The author really uses Tom Gray, maybe as a farewell, in order to show that even when he's supposed to be retired, you can't mess with him, or his family without paying a steep price. I would also encourage readers to please read Run and Hide so that you understand what has happened to Eva and her crew that has sent them on a virtual war against a man who knows where all the bodies are buried because he ordered their removal.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40092039-seek-and-destroy#other_reviews



Monday, February 18, 2019

#Review - Courting Darkness by Robin LaFevers #YALit #Fantasy

Series: Courting Darkness duology
Format: Hardcover, 512 pages
Release Date: February 5, 2019
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Source: Publisher
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

First in a duology, this darkly thrilling page-turner set in the world of the best-selling His Fair Assassin series is perfect for fans of THRONE OF GLASS, RED QUEEN, and GAME OF THRONES. Told in alternating perspectives, when Sybella discovers there is another trained assassin from St. Mortain’s convent deep undercover in the French court, she must use every skill in her arsenal to navigate the deadly royal politics and find her sister in arms before her time—and that of the newly crowned queen—runs out.

When Sybella accompanies the Duchess to France, she expects trouble, but she isn’t expecting a deadly trap. Surrounded by enemies both known and unknown, Sybella searches for the undercover assassins from the convent of St. Mortain who were placed in the French court years ago.

Genevieve has been undercover for so many years, she no longer knows who she is or what she’s supposed to be fighting for. When she discovers a hidden prisoner who may be of importance, she takes matters into her own hands.

As these two worlds collide, the fate of the Duchess, Brittany, and everything Sybella and Genevieve have come to love hangs in the balance. 


 




Courting Darkness is the first part of a two part duology that really should be considered a supplement to the His Fair Assassin Trilogy. So, please don't all for the lies that you don't have to have any knowledge of the Trilogy before up this book. You will be lost, and frustrated otherwise. This story takes place right where Mortal Heart left off. The prologue pretty much bears that message. This is a book that features both a familiar face in Sybella D'Albert, as well as a new face in Genevieve, a handmaiden of death just like Sybella.

This is a series that takes place in 15th century France. Readers will be taken to both Cognac, France, as well as Rennes, Brittany. This series follows women who were trained to be assassins at Saint Mortain's who is the God of Death. The women who appear in this series have all been sired by the God of Death. Sybella's powers are a curious sort. She has the ability to sense the heartbeats of the living. She is also able to experience the souls of the dying which is something new.

Sybella and her fellow Handmaidens of Death, like Ismae, are trying to come to terms with a world that no longer has the presence of Mortain and the mark that guided them. Sybella will do anything to protect her sisters from her vile brother and his desires for them, as well as Sybella. In her role as Lady-In-Waiting for Anne, the future Queen of France, she has to travel with her Lady from the safety of Brittany, to the unknown of the court of King Charles where backstabbing & betrayal is a national pastime. Sybella and her beau Beast, the Captain of the Queen's guards, have their arms filled with stopping those who want to dispose the Duchess and her allies who gave France such a hard time in their recent war for independence. 

Genevieve is one of the hidden sisters. It has been 5 years she and her friend Margot was sent on a mission to France to be a spy and to report back to the Convent things that are importance in the war between France and Brittany. she has never once killed anyone. She has instead, become an attendant to Countess Angouleme, and an object of desire for the Count. Genevieve's story is one of discovery. She wonders why after all this time she was sent here and what she is supposed to be doing because she is ready to return safely to the convent. She finds solace in a prisoner she stumbles across whom which the guards have forgotten about.

Over the course of the story, she befriends the man, discovers his true identity, and ends up in a collision course with Sybella. Genevieve has been gone so long from the convent, that she has no idea of the turmoil that has taken place or how much the world has changed with one particular choice made in the final throes of battle. She enlists the mans help, to a point, and then makes her way to the castle where the newly married King and Queen are now holding court. A King who has not forgotten about Genevieve and her kindness.

It's fair of me to say that Sybella never once meet in this book. They are both busy with their own missions, and when the chance does come, it leaves readers wanting to read the sequel. As an FYI, the author uses a bit her own unique twists with the time line to tell her story. Some years might be off by a year of two, but the events pretty much happened. Almost every character introduced in this story (except Sybella & Genevieve) is a historical character who you can easily research.



Prologue
Sybella
Rennes, Brittany
November 1489
As I stand on the battlements of the besieged city, looking out at the disarray before me, it is clear the god of Death has taken to the field. While this could be said of any battle—death and war are old friends, after all—today He rides a black horse, a pale-haired rider hunkered down in front of Him.
Annith. The most skilled of all of Death’s handmaidens and the sister of my heart.
She has done her part to avert this war—taken her shot using the last of the arrows forged by the gods, which flew as straight and true as if guided by their own hand. But now the French have seen her. Understand that it was she who shot at their king. And even though he is unharmed—harming him was never the intent—they are on her like jackals on a rotting carcass.
“Reload!” calls out Aeva, one of the dozen followers of Saint Arduinna who stand beside me along the ramparts.
Death and Annith ride hard for the gate, Mortain covering her with His body—a body from which four arrows protrude—protecting her life with His own. No, not His own, for He is the god of Death, I remind myself. But Father Effram’s warning has taken root in my heart.
“My lord, you do know what will happen if you choose to involve yourself in mortal affairs, do you not?”
The French archers release a second volley of arrows. As one, the Arduinnites and I return fire. But our arrows are too late. Mortain is hit yet again, taking two more to His side. Annith twists in the saddle, trying to hold onto Him.
It does not work, and they plummet to the ground. Annith begins crawling toward Mortain under yet another shower of French arrows. By Fate or chance, one of them buries itself in Death’s chest, and I feel the pain of it as if it comes from my own. Ice-cold fingers of dread trail down my back before wrapping themselves around my heart.
As a lone hound brays in the distance, I shove away from the battlements and race down the stairway to the gate. More hounds join the first, raising their voices in an unholy lamentation. For a moment, the world hangs suspended, like a drop of sap oozing from a tree, and in that moment I know. The god of Death—my father—is gone. He has passed from this world.
By the time I reach the gate, the French have fallen back, as if even they sense the magnitude of this moment. Nuns from the convent of Saint Brigantia swarm toward the fallen Mortain as Annith throws herself on his body, weeping. As much as I am hurting, she will be even more so.
Before I can reach them, a laugh rings out—an incongruous, joyful sound in the solemn stillness.
Puzzled, Death reaches for his chest, his hand coming away red with blood. Although I am half a bowshot away, I hear him say, “I am alive.”
It feels as if the earth I am standing on gives a dizzying spin.
He is alive. But even as far away as I am, I can see that he is no longer Death.
A great chasm opens inside me, a dark yawning maw that threatens to swallow me whole. If Death no longer walks amongst us, then what purpose am I to serve? What use will there be for my dark talents and skills?
I fear the answer was writ long ago, when I was born into the family that raised me. The family that nearly killed me and drove my mother into Death’s arms.
And that answer terrifies me far more than death ever has.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37569347-courting-darkness#other_reviews



Friday, February 15, 2019

What Doesn't Kill Her by Christina Dodd #Review #Thrillers

Series: Cape Charade # 2
Format: Paperback, 400 pages
Release Date: January 29, 2019
Publisher: HQN
Source: Publisher via NetGalley
Genre: Thrillers

One secret, one nightmare, one lie. You guess which is which.

1. I have the scar of a gunshot on my forehead.
2. I have willfully misrepresented my identity to the US military.
3. I'm the new mother of a seven-year-old girl.

Kellen Adams suffers from a yearlong gap in her memory. A bullet to the brain will cause that. But she's discovering the truth, and what she learns changes her life, her confidence, her very self. She finds herself in the wilderness, on the run, unprepared, her enemies unknown--and she is carrying a priceless burden she must protect at all costs. The consequences of failure would break her. And Kellen Adams does not break.

What doesn't kill her...had better start running




What Doesn't Kill Her is the second installment in author Christina Dodd's Cape Charade trilogy. Against all odds, Kellen Adams has proven she can survive and thrive. But to protect the family she never knew, including a daughter she is just getting used to, she now must defend against a menace she can’t imagine. What Doesn't Kill Her is a novel that doesn't stand alone. 

It is necessary to have read Dead Girl Running in order to understand the full scope of what Kellen has endured, and so, this review may or may not contain some spoilers for events in the first book. Kellen's life has taken a strange turn. She went from serving in the military, to being discharged after being injured, to becoming assistant manager of Yearning Sands Resort, to surviving a brutal villain along with a shocking betrayal that led to an even more shocking surprise.

Kellen is someone who is basically a computer on two legs. She can remember every thing about a person after meeting them. She can remember the location, schedule, and qualifications of every employee at the resort. What she can't remember is a year of her life, or why she has what appears to be a gunshot scar on her forehead. This time around, however, Kellen gets a bit of her past told back to her Maximilian DiLuca, who she had a romantic past with, and who refuses to allow her to disappear like she did before.

With Kellen feeling restless, and not understanding her role as mother to a 7 year old girl named Rae, Kellen takes a job from Nils Brooks. All she has to do is pick up an artifact, and deliver it to a reclusive man who is supposed to tell if the artifact is real, or a fact. But, things quickly spiral out of control. Her so called partner betrays her, Rae decides that mommy is on an adventure and needs to join in, which leads to all sorts of action, and dire circumstances.

It's fair to say that I will not spoil the events that happened while Kellen was in a coma, or how she ended up in said coma. But, I shall say that Kellen feels inadequate at being a mother. After all, her past gives no clue whether or not she would have been a nurturing mother. Her brain is not wired that way. As she tries to get close to Rae, she also has to deal with more severe issues. As in someone is still out to get her, and she has no clue who that person might be. After all, everyone she thought she knew back when she was living in Maine, is no longer among the living. 

This book left me with a bad feeling in my mouth. No, it wasn't a bad story. In fact, it was pretty good overall. I just hate when authors go back to back with cliffhanger endings which force you to read the next book. I know, it's pure idiocy on my part. But, in this case, it might force a change in how things get started in the final book in the series called Strangers She Knows. You can already tell by the title that things are going to get weird really fast.


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/39880749-what-doesn-t-kill-her



Thursday, February 14, 2019

#Blog Stop #Review - Faith Hunter's CIRCLE OF THE MOON: #Giveaway

Series: Soulwood # 4
Format: E-Book, 400 pages
Release Date: February 26, 2019
Publisher: ACE Books
Source: Publisher
Genre: Urban Fantasy
ISBN: 0399587942
ISBN-13: 978-0399587948 


Set in the same world as Faith Hunter’s New York Times bestselling Jane Yellowrock novels, the fourth thrilling Soulwood novel stars Nell Ingram, who draws her powers from deep within the Earth.

Nell Ingram can channel powers from deep within the Earth, and lately she’s been using them to help the government division that solves crimes against paranormals. Joining the team at PsyLED has allowed her to learn more about her powers and the world she always shunned—and to find true friends.

Head agent Rick LaFleur shifts into a panther when the moon calls him, but this time, something has gone wrong. Rick calls Nell from a riverbank—he’s naked, with no memory of how he came to be there, and there’s a dead panther, killed by black magic, lying next to him.

When another cat turns up dead at a different site the next day, and the same magic user seems to be behind it, Nell begins investigating—but the bonds that hold her team together are threatened when their leader becomes the case.

 





Circle of the Moon is the Fourth installment in author Faith Hunter's Soulwood series. Set in Tennessee, Psy-Law Enforcement Special Agent Nell Ingram uses her innate magical abilities to work with an agency policing paranormals in this series set in the same world as the Jane Yellowrock novels. First thing out of the gate. Please note that this book contains spoilers from . So, if you haven't yet read that book, please take a moment and go back and do so.

To say that this book contains a plethora of curious storylines is like saying that chocolate is good for you. Nell has so much to do, so much to think about, and so much to deal with that you have to wonder when it's all going to come to head. If you have read the previous three installments, then you know that Nell has had some interesting times which included spending 6 months as a tree! No, I am not kidding. Coming off her 6 month "disability" time off, Nell has a whole lot of catching up to do.

She's trying to do the right thing by her sister Mindy aka Mud who she is trying to legally adopt. That means getting her home up to code, joining the 21st century, and not just being off the grid. Getting Mud to stop talking like a church-woman, and try speaking townie English as well as registering her for school. Mud is a curious sort as well as very intelligent. One should never take Mud for granted or be dumbfounded by the things that she comes up with. 

Nell's bond with Occam has really grown to the point where Nell's family is wondering what the next step is. I can honestly say that I can tolerate her brother Sam, her father, and her mother more now than before. I think I said, 'It's about damn time!" at least 20 times over the course of this book. Nell and Occam are a really cute couple who both deserve happiness. Plus, Nell is good for Occam's healing that happened in the previous installment.

I have an internal struggle whenever Rick LaFleur is involved in any story. From Dark Queen, to being in charge of Nell's Psy-LED Unit 18, he's going to be involved whether you like it or not. Rick's past is really unmasked in a major way in this story and it's up to Nell and her teammates to do what they do in order to not only save him, but prevent a major catastrophe from happening. That includes bringing in new characters like Special Agent Margot Racer, and a character named Ayatas Firewind to be the teams new boss. If you think you know who Firewind is, please don't spoil it for the rest of the class. 




EXCERPT FOUR
We walked into HQ together, Occam at my six, protecting me or heading me like a cat after prey. I didn’t know. Didn’t rightly care. I’d learned at Spook School that the most experienced fighter/shooter always came last. If an enemy was waiting and attacked the first person in line, then the man at six was able to take the bad guy out. If the most experienced is at point and is ambushed, then the bad guy will likely get the second person in line too. Perfect logic.
Second in command of PsyLED Unit Eighteen, Special Agent Josephine Anna Jones—JoJo—met us at the top of the stairs. She was supposed to be writing the final summation report on a possible sighting of a devil dog in the hills east of Knoxville, but from her expression, this call-out was more than that. She said, “Where’s Mud?”
It was a strange question. “She’s spending the night with Esther and Jedidiah.”
“Jedidiah Whisnut, right? She safe with him?”
Safe was important. The men of God’s Cloud of Glory Church, a polygamous cult from which I had escaped, weren’t known to protect women. My sister Mud was twelve. That was close enough to make her prey to some of them. “She’s good.”
“Better be. You two are making a run. Rick sent a text and needs . . . hell, I don’t know. Backup? Help in some nonlethal situation? Kent’s gathering Rick’s four-day bag, backup weapon, extra key fob, and extra cell. I’ll text you the coordinates.”
T. Laine was visible at the end of the hallway, loaded down with gear.
JoJo, scarlet skirts swaying, whirled and rushed back along the hallway, part of the full moon and leopard tattoo on her neck catching the overhead lights, her turban glistening. There were gold and silver threads woven through the fabric. JoJo did not dress by PsyLED dress codes, and so far no one had told her she had to comply.
“Rick’s in trouble?” Occam asked as we weaponed up.
JoJo shouted back, “He didn’t send a nine-nine-nine, so I’m assuming he’s ruined his clothes and gear. Went for a swim. Something. But he texted from an old, outdated cell number, and now I can’t get through to it. So wear your vests. Just in case.”
Code-999 was for officer down, urgent help needed. No 999 meant things weren’t dire. Request for his gobag and gear? Yeah, that sounded like he fell in the river.
“Specifics?” Occam asked, seeming irritated that he was having to ask for details.
JoJo read from her screen, shouting down the hallway. “‘Need pickup. Weapon. Gobag. Cell. Car fob. ASAP. Send Occam and Nell.’”

https://gizmosreviews.blogspot.com/2019/02/blog-stop-review-faith-hunters-circle.html

Amazon | Books-a-Million| Barnes & Noble
iBooks Google Play

AUTHOR BIO: 
Find Faith and her books
Faith Hunter is the New York Times and USAToday bestselling author of the Jane Yellowrock series, the Soulwood series, and the Rogue Mage series, as well as the author of 16 thrillers under pen the names Gary Hunter and Gwen Hunter. She has 40+ books in print.

Faith collects orchids and animal skulls, loves thunder storms, and writes. She likes to cook soup, bake homemade bread, garden, and run Class III whitewater rivers. She edits the occasional anthology and drinks a lot of tea. Some days she’s a lady. Some days she ain't.
For more, see www.faithhunter.net
To keep up with her, like her fan page at Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/official.faith.hunter

 

Giveaway:
Five winners will receive the first two Soulwood novels! Contest runs Feb. 11th until Mar. 7th. The Rafflecopter code is below:





a Rafflecopter giveaway



Wednesday, February 13, 2019

#Review - The Blood Spell by C.J. Redwine #YALIT #Fantasy

Series: Ravenspire # 4
Format: E-Book, 448 pages
Release Date: February 12, 2019
Publisher: Balzer + Brey
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
Genre: Young Adult / Fantasy / Epic

A dark and romantic epic fantasy, inspired by Cinderella, about a girl who must team up with the prince she despises to defeat an evil creature in their kingdom. The fourth book in the New York Times bestselling Ravenspire series by C. J. Redwine. 

Blue de la Cour has her life planned: Hide the magic in her blood and continue trying to turn metal into gold so she can help her city’s homeless. But when her father is murdered and a cruel but powerful woman claims custody of Blue and her property, one wrong move could expose her—and doom her once and for all. The only one who can help? The boy she’s loathed since childhood: Prince Kellan.

Kellan Renard, crown prince of Balavata, is walking a thin line between political success and devastating violence. Newly returned from boarding school, he must find a bride among the kingdom’s head families and announce his betrothal—but escalating violence among the families makes the search nearly impossible. He’s surprised to discover that the one person who makes him feel like he can breathe is Blue, the girl who once ruined all his best adventures.

When mysterious forces lead to disappearances throughout Balavata, Blue and Kellan must work together to find the truth. What they discover will lead them to the darkest reaches of the kingdom and to the most painful moments of their pasts. When romance is forbidden and evil is rising, can Blue save those she loves, even if it costs her everything?




The Blood Spell is the fourth installment in author C.J. Redwine's Ravenspire series. A series that has seen different lead characters in all four installments. A series that is more likely than not to be a retelling of classic fairy tale. In this case, the retelling of Cinderella takes a curious and enjoyable twist with 17-year old Bernadine de la Cour, Blue to her friends as the would be Cinderella, while Kellan Renard is the would be Prince Charming. 

Blue works as an apothecary while simultaneously hiding her magic from the world. Magic, in fact, is illegal after the actions of an evil witch. Blue is a strong character defined by her iron-clad will to uphold justice, helping less fortunate people and putting her loved ones above all else. When street children begin disappearing, Blue begins to wonder if something nefarious is happening. 

When her father dies, she is thrown into turmoil when her guardianship shifts to a rather cruel woman who is determined to use Blue's abilities to force her to make gold in order to resolve her recent financial ruin. With the help of crown Prince Kellan, whom she has "hated" her entire life, Blue tries to dig deeper into the reason why her father died, the reason behind the disappearance of street kids, and the reason why a woman she deems unjustly cruel, has somehow managed to gain guardianship over her.

Meanwhile, Crown Prince Kellan is nearing his 19th birthday and his imminent betrothal to a girl from one of the 9 families that make up his country. He is also troubled by the loss off his father who should still be ruling the country. Kellan and Blue have a curious relationship. They crew up together, and seemingly she kept him from getting in so many bad situations that it's hard to keep track. Blue has another avenue for assistance. Kellen shares similar values with Blue but with a reckless spirit where Blue's is logical. Working together might actually save them both.

If you have read the previous installments, you will have already met Kellan. He was a supporting cast member from The Traitor Prince, which featured Prince Javan. Redwine has a tendency of planting Easter Eggs in her story so pay attention. You will also find Hansel and Gretel, as well as Thaddeus and Arianna Glavan from Sundraille who share a brief appearance that pretty much includes all of the main characters. I find myself looking for hints as to whom the next featured characters could be. I'm for a loss this time around.

One of the more positive aspects of this story is the addition of Kellan's younger sister Princess Nessa. I absolutely adore her! She is written as a character who is unable to speak, and thus those who know her best, like her mother the Queen, and Kellan, as well as Blue and her father, have learned to sign in order to communicate with her. The cast of the story is as diverse as you can get without pushing the limits of hypocrisy by changing a character to fit a particular narrative.

With the popularity of Sarah J. Maas’s bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series and dark fantasy like Holly Black’s The Cruel Prince, the always-popular fantasy genre is burning brightly. This gorgeous and action-packed story is just right for fans of the genre. Redwine puts a dark, action-packed, and romantic twist on the famous tale—making it all her own. Cinderella fans won’t want to miss this one.


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35215746-the-blood-spell



Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Pre-Order Blitz - Queen of Ashes by @MalMcCartney & @CleanReads_


Today Mallory McCartney and Rockstar Book Tours are happy to announce that QUEEN TO ASHES, is available for pre-order! Check out all the book info and enter the giveaway!



Title: QUEEN TO ASHES (Black Dawn #2)
Author: Mallory McCartney
Pub. Date: January 8, 2019
Publisher: Clean Reads Publishing
Formats: eBook
Pages: ?

“You lived your entire life feeling like half of you was missing. Fight for the missing part. Fight for this.” 

Emory Fae has abandoned everything she thought she knew about her previous life on Earth. Stepping up to her role as Queen of Kiero she makes a startling sacrifice- feigning her allegiances to Adair Stratton, the man who murdered her parents and casted Kiero into ruin. Emory’s memories slowly piece together, and she soon realizes the Mad King may not be all he seems— and the man who was once best friend, may be fighting beneath the surface. 

With the King’s attention on her, can she buy Black Dawn Rebellion enough time to recuperate their forces? And when the times comes, will she be able to kill Adair, ending his tyranny and rising herself as the rightful Queen? Fighting to hide her secret, Emory navigates the brutal trials of the Mad King, trying not to lose herself in the process. 

Sequel to Black Dawn, now a bestselling series, the sparks are ignited, as Emory learns the cost of freedom, and her title. Will the rebels unite in time? A sinister force has spread across the land, stripping everyone bare- their betrayals, their secrets, their intentions. But above all, what will their decisions cost? By refusing to give in to the darkness, will Emory rise as Queen?

Renegade and Black Dawn will be available in the following #Vancouver area locations : Chapters Burnaby, Indigo Surrey, Chapters Coquitlam, Indigo West Vancouver, Indigo Granville (2505 Granville St) and Indigo Robson (1033 Robson St) in December!

Title: RENEGADE (Black Dawn 0.5)
Author: Mallory McCartney
Pub. Date: July 3, 2018
Publisher: Clean Reads Publishing
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Pages: 274
Find it: Amazon, B&N, TBD, Goodreads


“The time for Kiero’s reign in prosperity is over.”

Six years before the Black Dawn Rebellion, Adair Stratton and Emory Fae are following in their parent’s footsteps and living at The Academy, a home for those who are gifted. The pressure to uphold the future of their parent’s dream falls on them. An outcast and feared by most, Adair longs to break away from the expectations dictating his future. Even if Emory tries to make him see differently. An unexpected group of friends keep him there, but as whispers of unexplained disappearances start reaching from the capital, Adair starts to doubt The Academy is all it seems.

An unexpected visit ignites new tensions as the roguish king from across the Black Sea, Tadeas Maher of the Shattered Isles, and his heir, Marquis Maher sail to Kiero. Notorious for their pirating and wrath- for the first time in years, they demand the Fae’s listen to their proposition for a new treaty, holding the news of Nei’s father’s abrupt death over them. Caught in the middle of politics- Adair and Emory, with the help of their best friends Brokk and Memphis search for the one thing that matters most- finding out the truth.

In this gripping prequel to Black Dawn, their world is tipped upside down as unlikely alliances are made. War ravages through Kiero and is torn apart by acclaimed Kings. Through the throes of betrayal, lies, hidden magic and love, Adair is faced with a life changing decision- to fight or to bow to the darkness within him.

Title: BLACK DAWN (Black Dawn #1)
Author: Mallory McCartney
Release Date: February 14, 2017
Publisher: Clean Reads Publishing
Pages: 352
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Find it: Amazon, B&N, TBD, Goodreads

Emory Fae enjoys leading a quiet, normal life. That is until two mysterious, and handsome soldiers show up at her apartment, and the life she knew is instantly whisked away. Memphis Carter and Brokk Foster come from the magical and war ridden world of Kiero, and bringing Emory back she will discover she is the long lost heir to the Royal Line and is thrown into the Black Dawn Rebellion with a dynamic role to ignite the rebels and reclaim her throne.

With both men being darkly woven in her past Emory uncovers hidden secrets, a power held long dormant, and will soon realize there are worse things than supernatural humans, love, loss, betrayal, and a Mad King.

Some things are better left in the shadows.



About Mallory:

Mallory McCartney is the author of the bestselling Black Dawn series. She currently lives in Sarnia, Ontario with her husband and their three dachshunds Link, Lola and Leonard. When she isn’t working on her next novel or reading, she can be found day dreaming about fantasy worlds and hiking. Other favorite pastimes involve reorganizing perpetually overflowing bookshelves and seeking out new coffee and dessert shops.








Giveaway Details:
One lucky winner will receive a $10 Amazon Gift Card, International.

Giveaway ends March 15 at midnight, EST!